30-LS0570\A

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 15

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVES JOHNSON, Kreiss-Tomkins

Introduced: 3/10/17 Referred:

A RESOLUTION

1 Encouraging repeal of the REAL ID Act of 2005.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

3	WHEREAS the federal government has failed to show any measurable evidence that
4	the implementation of the REAL ID Act of 2005 will make our borders more secure and
5	better protect our citizens from terrorism; and
6	WHEREAS the state, under the Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
7	States, has always exercised its exclusive power to establish standards and regulations for the
8	issuance of Alaska state driver's licenses and Alaska state identification cards; and
9	WHEREAS the federal government imposes a huge fiscal burden on the division of
10	motor vehicles to implement the REAL ID Act of 2005; and
11	WHEREAS noncompliance with the REAL ID Act of 2005 will result in the federal
12	government punishing individual Alaskans for the actions of the state by placing limitations
13	on state residents' freedom of travel and access to federal facilities; and
14	WITEDEAS as of Ostober 1, 2020. Alaska state driver's licenses or Alaska state

- WHEREAS, as of October 1, 2020, Alaska state driver's licenses or Alaska state
 identification cards will not be acceptable identification for air travel;
- 16 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature does not believe government

should wage the war on terrorism at the expense of states' rights and liberties of citizens
 protected by the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature does not believe the
 REAL ID Act of 2005 will make the United States measurably safer and encourages the
 United States Congress to repeal the REAL ID Act of 2005.

6 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President 7 of the United States; the Honorable Michael Pence, Vice President of the United States and 8 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Paul D. Ryan, Speaker of the U.S. House of 9 Representatives; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. 10 Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska 11 delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 115th United States Congress.