CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 15(CRA)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE HOUSE COMMUNITY AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Offered: 2/27/09 Referred: Resources

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES KAWASAKI, Gardner

A RESOLUTION

1 Urging the United States Congress to change the name of Mount McKinley to Denali.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- WHEREAS the Athabaskan name "Denali" for Alaska's highest mountain has been in
- 4 use for thousands of years before the renaming of the mountain to McKinley in 1896, is still
- 5 widely used across the state, and is recognized throughout the world as synonymous with
- 6 Mount McKinley; and
- 7 **WHEREAS** "Denali" translates to "The High One," from the Koyukon dialect of the
- 8 Athabaskan people and is indicative of its worldwide recognition as the highest mountain on
- 9 the continent of North America, standing at 20,320 feet; and
- 10 **WHEREAS**, in 1896, when prospector William A. Dickey christened the mountain
- 11 "Mt. McKinley," William McKinley of Ohio had recently been named the Republican
- candidate for President of the United States but had not yet assumed the office of President;
- 13 and
- 14 **WHEREAS** President McKinley never visited the territory of Alaska; and
- WHEREAS officially recognizing the Athabaskan name of Denali may help to rectify
- past injustices toward Alaska Native peoples; and

WHEREAS the Alaska	Board of Geographical	Names officially	recognizes the	name
of the mountain as Denali; and				

WHEREAS members of Congress have blocked any attempt by Alaska officials to rename the mountain Denali since 1975, effectively revoking the right of the people of the State of Alaska to name their own geographical landmarks;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress to pass legislation to change the name of Mount McKinley to Denali.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Ken Salazar, United States Secretary of the Interior; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable John Boehner, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 111th United States Congress.