# SENATE CS FOR CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 28(RES)

### IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

## TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

#### BY THE SENATE RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Offered: 4/14/09 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES JOHNSON, Millett, Wilson, Neuman, Keller, Lynn, Johansen, Dahlstrom

## **A RESOLUTION**

- 1 Urging the President of the United States and the United States Congress not to adopt
- 2 any policy, rule, or administrative action or enact legislation that would restrict energy
- 3 exploration, development, and production in federal and state waters around Alaska,
- 4 the outer continental shelf within 200 miles of shore, and elsewhere in the continental
- 5 United States; urging the President of the United States and the United States Congress
- 6 to encourage and promote continued exploration, development, and production of
- 7 domestic oil and gas resources.

## 8 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 9 **WHEREAS** the future growth of the United States economy is energy-dependent and
- 10 requires access to domestic oil and gas resources, alternative and renewable energy resources,
- and increased conservation; and
- WHEREAS the United States, as a matter of national policy, needs to reduce its long-
- 13 term dependence on foreign energy sources for the purposes of economic and national
- security; and

1	WHEREAS responsible development and expansion of domestic energy resources
2	will generate thousands of much-needed jobs; result in billions of dollars in new investment in
3	and tax revenue for federal, state, and local governments; reduce oil imports; stem the flow of
4	United States dollars to foreign governments for the purchase of energy supplies; and
5	generally ensure the health of the United States economy in the short and long term; and
6	WHEREAS wind, solar, hydro, geothermal, and other alternative energy resources
7	hold the potential for meeting future energy demands and deserve support, but are incapable
8	of meeting current domestic energy needs; and
9	WHEREAS current domestic energy needs require increased access to domestic oi
10	and gas while alternative energy resources are developed for the future; and
11	WHEREAS vast energy resources in the United States, including billions of barrels of
12	oil and trillions of cubic feet of natural gas in areas on the North Slope and offshore from
13	Alaska remain untouched and could be developed economically; and
14	WHEREAS new drilling techniques and environmentally sound exploration
15	development, and production technologies enable the development of oil and gas reserves in
16	the continental United States and on the outer continental shelf as domestic energy resources
17	and
18	WHEREAS the safe and responsible exploration and development of all domestic
19	energy resources to provide economic and national security is in the best interests of the
20	citizens of the United States; and
21	WHEREAS the people of Alaska support the safe and responsible development of
22	domestic energy resources and recognize the economic benefits of a balanced energy policy
23	that includes increased development of domestic oil and gas resources;
24	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the President of the
25	United States and the United States Congress not to adopt any policy, rule, or administrative
26	action or enact legislation that would restrict energy exploration, development, and production
27	in federal and state waters around Alaska, the outer continental shelf within 200 miles of
28	shore, and elsewhere in the continental United States; and be it
29	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the President of the
30	United States and the United States Congress to encourage and promote continued responsible

exploration, development, and production of domestic oil and gas resources.

31

1 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 2 the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and 3 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Ken Salazar, United States Secretary of the 4 Interior; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the 5 Honorable John Boehner, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the 6 Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, 7 Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Jeff Bingaman, Chair of the Energy and 8 Natural Resources Committee of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the 9 Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, 10 members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 111th United 11 States Congress.