32-LS1388\G

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 21

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION BY SENATOR REINBOLD

Introduced: 2/22/22 Referred: Transportation, State Affairs

A RESOLUTION

1	Urging the Canadian government to honor individual medical and religious rights by
2	granting passage through Canada without discrimination to all United States citizens,
3	including truck drivers, regardless of COVID-19 vaccination status, for the purpose of
4	delivering goods to the United States.
5	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
6	WHEREAS the people of Alaska depend on the route through Canada for travel to
7	the contiguous states of the United States and to transport goods through Canada; and
8	WHEREAS the legislature supports avoiding any disruption of the supply chain,
9	which is critical to the economy and welfare of the state and the welfare of its people; and
10	WHEREAS because many citizens, including truck drivers who deliver food and
11	goods, will legally decline the COVID-19 vaccine for a variety of reasons, the COVID-19
12	vaccine mandate will increase the food insecurity for citizens of this state, as well as of the
13	citizens of the other states in the United States and the provinces of Canada; will increase
14	costs; and will jeopardize the jobs and well-being of individuals and families; and
15	WHEREAS the COVID-19 vaccine mandate will cause a decrease in the number of

employed truck drivers at a time when a shortage of qualified and experienced truck drivers
 already exists, and many commercial truck drivers will choose to stop driving because of the
 COVID-19 vaccine mandate; and

WHEREAS a decrease in the number of employed truck drivers would cause a severe
interruption in the supply chain affecting the flow of necessities, including food, medical
supplies, and other critical items; and

7 WHEREAS the COVID-19 vaccine may be contraindicated for a variety of reasons,
8 including medical conditions; and

9

WHEREAS the long-term side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine are unknown; and

WHEREAS constitutional religious liberties must be honored, and, under state law,
an individual may decline a vaccination for any reason, including religious beliefs; and

WHEREAS the Canadian and United States governments are urged to recognize the value of natural immunity and that, based on clinical studies, many Canadians and United States citizens now likely have superior immunity to COVID-19 because those citizens have recovered from COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, in 1942, in An Exchange of Notes Between Canada and the United States Recording an Agreement Providing for the Construction of a Military Highway to Alaska, the Canadian government and United States government agreed that "at the conclusion of the war that part of the highway which lies in Canada shall become in all respects an integral part of the Canadian highway system, subject to the understanding that there shall at no time be imposed any discriminatory conditions in relation to the use of the road as between Canadian and United States civilian traffic";

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the Canadian government to honor individual medical and religious rights by granting passage through Canada without discrimination to all United States citizens, including truck drivers, regardless of COVID-19 vaccination status, for the purpose of delivering goods to the United States.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, President
of the United States; the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada; the
Honourable Kirsten Hillman, Ambassador of Canada to the United States; the Honourable
Mélanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Canada; the Honourable Omar Alghabra, Minister
of Transport, Canada; the Honourable Marc Miller, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations,

1 Canada; the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, 2 Infrastructure and Communities, Canada; the Honourable Jean Gagnon, Commissioner for 3 Canada, International Boundary Commission; the Honourable Scott Streiner, Chief Executive 4 Officer and Chair, Canadian Transportation Agency; the Honourable Sandy Silver, Premier of 5 Yukon, Canada; the Honourable John Horgan, Premier of British Columbia, Canada; the 6 Honourable Jason Kenney, Premier of Alberta, Canada; the Honorable Pete Buttigieg, United 7 States Secretary of Transportation; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable 8 Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of 9 the Alaska delegation in Congress.