SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 7

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY SENATORS THERRIAULT, Dyson

Introduced: 2/19/09

Referred: Senate Special Committee on Energy, Resources

A RESOLUTION

1 Opposing a United Nations designation of the Arctic Ocean as a World Heritage Site.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 3 WHEREAS many scientists are concerned that a recent loss of sea ice in the Arctic
- 4 Ocean could be an indicator of a potential prolonged period of warmer than normal
- 5 temperatures in the Arctic; and
- 6 WHEREAS scientists theorize that a warming of the Arctic could lead to an ice-free
- 7 ocean, which would likely lead to trans-Arctic Ocean shipping, resource development, and
- 8 increased human activity in the Arctic; and
- 9 **WHEREAS** significant amounts of oil, gas, and minerals lie under the Arctic Ocean,
- and, if the ocean were ice-free, those resources could be more readily accessed and
- 11 developed; and
- WHEREAS a group of North American scientists recently proposed that the United
- Nations designate the Arctic Ocean a multi-location World Heritage Site for the express
- purpose of eliminating increased transportation, resource extraction, and other development in
- 15 the area; and
- WHEREAS management of the Arctic Ocean as a "sea park" would negatively affect

- 1 the sovereignty of the nations that border the ocean, including the United States, Canada,
- 2 Greenland, Russia, and Norway;
- 3 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature opposes, and encourages the
- 4 United States, on behalf of Alaska, its only Arctic state, to oppose, any effort by the United
- 5 Nations to designate any portion of the Arctic Ocean as a World Heritage Site or similar
- 6 designation that would impinge on the sovereignty of the United States.
- 7 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of
- 8 the United States; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S.
- 9 Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska
- 10 delegation in Congress.