ARIZONA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES



Fifty-sixth Legislature Second Regular Session House: COM DP 8-2-0-0

HB 2666: tourism advisory council; public entities Sponsor: Representative Biasiucci, LD 30 Caucus & COW

Overview

Amends statute pertaining to the Tourism Advisory Council (Council).

History

The Arizona Office of Tourism (AOT) is responsible for promoting and developing tourism in Arizona. The AOT is led by a Director who is appointed by the Governor. The Director is assisted and advised by the Council with establishing the budget, policies and programs (A.R.S. § 41-2302).

The Council consists of 15 members, appointed by the Governor, serving five-year terms. The members must be from recreational and tourist attractions, transportation and hospitality, other tourism-related businesses, and the general public. There must be at least one member from each of the six geographical planning areas, as follows: Area 1 Maricopa; Area 2 Pima; Area 3 Apache, Coconino, Navajo and Yavapai; Area 4 Mohave and Yuma; Area 5 Gila and Pinal; Area 6 Graham, Greenlee, Cochise and Santa Cruz. The Council may exercises its statutory powers and duties by engaging in joint venture activities with private corporations (A.R.S. § 41-2304).

Provisions

- 1. Adds La Paz County to Area 4 of the six geographical planning areas of Arizona for purposes relating to the appointment of members to the Council. (Sec. 1)
- 2. Allows the Council to engage with public entities, including cities, towns and counties, in addition to private corporations, to further the goals of the AOT. (Sec. 1)
- 3. Makes technical changes. (Sec. 1)

 \Box Prop 105 (45 votes) \Box Prop 108 (40 votes) \Box Emergency (40 votes) \Box Fiscal Note