NOTE: This bill has been prepared for the signatures of the appropriate legislative officers and the Governor. To determine whether the Governor has signed the bill or taken other action on it, please consult the legislative status sheet, the legislative history, or the Session Laws.



HOUSE BILL 12-1073

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Brown, Barker, Bradford, Coram, Holbert, Joshi, Kerr J., Pace, Summers; also SENATOR(S) Roberts, Boyd, Giron, Guzman, King S., Nicholson, Schwartz.

CONCERNING THE TRANSFER OF A JUDGESHIP FROM THE FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO THE SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 13-5-102, **repeal** (2) (e); and **add** (2) (f) as follows:

- 13-5-102. First district. (2) (e) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a) of this subsection (2), subject to available appropriations, effective July 1, 2011, the number of judges for the first judicial district shall be fourteen.
- (f) NOTWITHSTANDING THE PROVISIONS OF PARAGRAPH (a) OF THIS SUBSECTION (2), SUBJECT TO AVAILABLE APPROPRIATIONS, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012, THE NUMBER OF JUDGES FOR THE FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT SHALL BE THIRTEEN.

Capital letters indicate new material added to existing statutes; dashes through words indicate deletions from existing statutes and such material not part of act.

SECTION 2. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 13-5-107, **amend** (2) as follows:

- **13-5-107. Sixth district.** (2) (a) The number of judges for the sixth judicial district shall be two.
- (b) Subject to available appropriations, effective July 1, 2002, the number of judges for the sixth judicial district shall be three.
- (c) NOTWITHSTANDING THE PROVISIONS OF PARAGRAPH (a) OF THIS SUBSECTION (2), SUBJECT TO AVAILABLE APPROPRIATIONS, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012, THE NUMBER OF JUDGES FOR THE SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT SHALL BE FOUR.

SECTION 3. Effective date. This act takes effect July 1, 2012.

SECTION 4. Safety clause. The general assembly hereby finds,

Frank McNulty	Brandon C. Shaffer
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES	PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE
Marilyn Eddins	Cindi L. Markwell
CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES	SECRETARY OF THE SENATE
APPROVED	
AITROVED	