Second Regular Session Seventy-third General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

REVISED

LLS NO. R22-1044.01 Shannon Wheeler x4340

SJR22-013

SENATE SPONSORSHIP

Rodriguez, Bridges, Buckner, Coleman, Cooke, Coram, Danielson, Donovan, Fenberg, Fields, Gardner, Ginal, Gonzales, Hansen, Hinrichsen, Hisey, Holbert, Jaquez Lewis, Kirkmeyer, Kolker, Lee, Liston, Lundeen, Moreno, Pettersen, Priola, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smallwood, Sonnenberg, Story, Winter, Woodward, Zenzinger

HOUSE SPONSORSHIP

Garnett, Amabile, Bacon, Baisley, Benavidez, Bernett, Bird, Bockenfeld, Boesenecker, Bradfield, Caraveo, Carver, Catlin, Cutter, Daugherty, Duran, Esgar, Exum, Froelich, Geitner, Gonzales-Gutierrez, Gray, Herod, Holtorf, Hooton, Jodeh, Kennedy, Kipp, Larson, Lindsay, Lontine, Luck, Lynch, McCluskie, McCormick, McKean, McLachlan, Michaelson Jenet, Mullica, Neville, Ortiz, Pelton, Pico, Rich, Ricks, Roberts, Sandridge, Sirota, Snyder, Soper, Sullivan, Tipper, Titone, Valdez A., Valdez D., Van Beber, Van Winkle, Weissman, Will, Williams, Woog, Young

Senate Committees

House Committees

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 22-013
CONCERNING CELEBRATING THE UNIVERSITY OF DENVER PIONEERS
MEN'S ICE HOCKEY TEAM'S 2022 NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP WIN.
WHEREAS, The University of Denver Pioneers men's ice hockey
team has been competing since 1949; and
WHEREAS, The Pioneers are members of the National Collegiate
Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I; and
WHEREAS, The Pioneers are now tied with Michigan for the
most NCAA National Men's Ice Hockey Championships at 9 titles; and
WHEREAS, The Pioneers have won 15 regular season conference
championships and 14 conference playoff championships: and

Final Reading April 29, 2022

> eading 2022

1 2	WHEREAS, 75 Pioneers have gone on to play in the National Hockey League (NHL); and
3 4 5	WHEREAS, Two Pioneers have been recognized as the best player in collegiate hockey with the prestigious Hobey Baker Award, which is an annual award given to the top NCAA men's ice hockey player; and
6 7 8	WHEREAS, On Saturday, April 9, 2022, the Pioneers added their ninth national title to their already stellar record, triumphing over Minnesota State by a score of 5-1; and
9 10 11 12	WHEREAS, The Pioneers have demonstrated their winning values both on and off the ice, as they participate in community-building efforts and always aspire to a "service above self" attitude, a primary tenet of their team's vision statement; and
13 14 15	WHEREAS, It is fitting that we acknowledge the hard work and successes of the University of Denver Pioneers men's ice hockey team and celebrate their 2022 NCAA championship win; and
16 17	WHEREAS, This win brings great honor and recognition to the University of Denver and the state of Colorado; now, therefore,
18 19 20	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventy-third General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:
21 22 23 24	That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, honor the University of Denver Pioneers men's ice hockey team for their victory in the 2022 NCAA National Championship and celebrate their many achievements as a Division I collegiate team.
25 26 27 28	Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Dr. Jeremy Haefner, Chancellor of the University of Denver, and Michael Weisman, Associate Commissioner of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

-2- 013