Second Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

REVISED

LLS NO. R14-1051.01 Kate McCarthy x2802

SJR14-035

SENATE SPONSORSHIP

Scheffel and Jones,

HOUSE SPONSORSHIP

Lawrence and Vigil,

Senate Committees

House Committees

	SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-035
CONCERNING THE DESIGNATION OF APRIL 28, 2014, AS "FIR	
	RESPONDER APPRECIATION DAY".
	WHEREAS, First responders risk their own safety and personal
	property in the execution of their duties to protect the public on a daily basis; and
	WHEREAS, First responders are the first line of defense for the
	public against threats, both domestic and foreign; and
	WHEREAS, First responders stand at the ready to come to the aid
	of the citizens of the United States of America twenty-four hours a day;
	and

Final Reading

SENATE Final Reading April 28, 2014

1	WHEREAS, First responders are a vital part of our communities,
2	not only standing ready to deal with emergencies but also volunteering in
3	our schools and community organizations; and
4	WHEREAS, Individuals, both career and volunteer, from police,
5	fire, emergency medical services, search and rescue, and other
6	organizations in the public safety sector, come together as a collective to
7	aid the public in the event of an emergency; and
8	Whereas, The governors of the states of Illinois, Oregon,
9	Kentucky, and Wisconsin have issued proclamations designating
10	September 27 as First Responders Appreciation Day; and
11	Whereas, The city of Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, has also celebrated
12	First Responders Appreciation Day; and
13	WHEREAS, The Colorado General Assembly wishes to honor and
14	support all first responders with an annual day of appreciation; now,
15	therefore,
16	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly
17	of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:
18	That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly,
19	designate April 28, 2014, "First Responder Appreciation Day".
20	Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent
21	to Karen Renshaw, CAE Executive Director, Colorado Association of
22	Chiefs of Police; Christopher Olson, County Sheriffs of Colorado; Ron
23	Graton, Colorado State Fire Fighters Association; Mike Rogers, Colorado
24	Professional Fire Fighters; Paul Cooke, Division of Fire Prevention and
25	Control, Colorado State Patrol; Howard Paul, Executive Director, the
26	Emergency Medical Services Association of Colorado and Public Affairs
27	Manager, the Colorado Search and Rescue Board; Sgt. John Hahn,
28	Colorado State Patrol; Jacki Kelley, Jefferson County Regional SWAT;
29	Fred Wegner, Park County Sheriff; the I Love You Guys Foundation; Tim
30	Gregg; Tawnya Silloway, National EMS Memorial Service; George
31	McCulloc, President, North Fork Volunteer Fire Department; Patrick
32	Smith, President, Foothills Fire Department; Randolph Winsett, President,
33	Mountain View Fire Department; Ron Ruyl, President, Wiggins Rural
34	Fire Department; Erik Christensen, Fire Chief, Fort Morgan Fire
35	Department; Roger Holter, Chair, City of Brush Fire Department; Daniel

-2- 035

Oates, Chief of Police, City of Aurora; Grayson Robinson, Arapahoe 1 2 County Sheriff; Mike Garcia, Fire Chief, City of Aurora; Dr. Christopher 3 Colwell, Director of Emergency Medical Services, Denver Health 4 Medical Center; Dr. Frank Lansville, Director of Emergency Medical 5 Services, Aurora South Hospital; Tracy Lauzon, Director of Emergency 6 Medical Services and Trauma Services, Aurora Medical Center; Patricia 7 Tritt, Director of Emergency Medical Services, Swedish Medical Center 8 Denver; Michael Kehoe, Chief of Police, City of Newtown; Joe Rios, 9 City of Newtown Executive Officer Captain; Ed Davis, Police 10 Commissioner, City of Boston; Steve Abraira, Fire Chief, City of Boston; 11 Bob Gann, Fire Chief, Rist Canyon Volunteer Fire Department; Tom 12 DeMint, Fire Chief, Poudre Fire Authority; John Hutto, Chief of Police, 13 City of Fort Collins; Justin Smith, Larimer County Sheriff; Peter Carey, Chief of Police, City of Colorado Springs; Terry Maketa, El Paso County 14 Sheriff; Kimberly Culp, Executive Director, Larimer Emergency 15 Telephone Authority; Stan Hilkey, Mesa County Sheriff; Michael 16 Morgan, Colorado State Fire Chiefs; Brian Shepherd, National Public 17 Safety Broadband Network; Daniel Brennan, Chief of Police, City of 18 19 Wheat Ridge; Shayne Heap, Elbert County Sheriff; Edward Deveau, Chief of Police, City of Waterton, Massachusetts; Jennifer Schaffer, City 20 21 Secretary, City of West, Texas; David Carr, Incident Commander, West 22 Fork Fire Complex; Beth Lund, Great Basin Type 1 Incident Management Team Commander, West Fork Fire Complex; Gerald Jerant, Fire Chief, 23 Huerfano County; Gregg Goodland, Public Information Officer, Royal 24 Gorge Fire Department; Kyle Patterson, Spokesperson, Rocky Mountain 25 26 National Park; James Englert, School Resource Officer Deputy Sheriff, 27 Arapahoe High School; James Mauler, Security Guard, Arapahoe High School; Arapahoe County Sheriff's Office; Gerry Morrell, Fire Chief, 28 29 Lafayette Fire Department; Joe Pelle, Sheriff, Boulder County; Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency; Chuck 30 Russell, Deputy Incident Commander, Larimer County; Ben Pennymon, 31 32 Spokesperson, Boulder County Office of Emergency Management; J.J. Hoffman, Fire Chief, City of Lyons; Shane Del Grosso, Boulder Incident 33 Commander; Eric Marsh, Crew Supervisor, Granite Mountain Hotshots; 34 35 Ben Palm, Fire Chief, Yarnell Fire Department; Joseph Finn, Deputy Fire Chief, Boston Fire Department; Ty Trenary, Snohomish County Sheriff; 36 Steve Harris, Search Effort Division Supervisor, Washington state; Tod 37 38 Gates, Incident Commander, Northwest Washington Incident 39 Management Team; Travis Hots, Fire Chief, Snohomish County Fire District 21; Marti Whitmore, Public Information Officer, Ouray County; 40 Lynn Padgett, Chairperson, Ouray County Board of County 41 Commissioners; Michael Farr, Sergeant, Denver Police Department; 42

-3- 035

- Bellamann Hee, Trooper, Colorado State Patrol; Mike Butler, Public
- 2 Safety Chief, Longmont Public Safety; Bruce Goodman, Chief of Police,
- 3 <u>Louisville Police Department; Tim Parker, Fire Chief, Louisville Fire</u>
- 4 Protection District; Rick Bashor, Chief of Police, Lafayette Police
- 5 Department; Marc Vasquez, Chief of Police, Erie Police Department;
- 6 Mark Lawley, Fire Chief, Mountain View Fire Protection District;
- Frederick Ryan, Chief of Police, Arlington Police Department; and
- 8 Richard Brown, Fire Chief, Colorado Springs.

-4- 035