ENROLLED ORIGINAL

A CEREMONIAL RESOLUTION

<u>25-196</u>

IN THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

April 2, 2024

To recognize, honor, and congratulate the Georgetown Day School Girls middle school girls basketball program for winning the 1st ever Middle School DCSAA City Basketball Championship and congratulate the Georgetown Day School Women's Basketball Program for winning their 2nd DCSAA Class A City Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, Georgetown Day School was founded in 1945 as Washington's first racially integrated school;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball team has won 2 DCSAA Class A championships in 3 years;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Middle School Girl's Basketball team finished the year with a winning record of 11-1;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball team finished the year with a winning record of 22-8;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball Team title drew recognition from the Washington Post, DCPS, and Council Members;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball Team has continued to promote high character student-athletes and great sportsmanship;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Middle School Basketball Team coaching staff consists of Assistant Coach Pam Stanfield and Head Coach Garrett Milam;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball Team coaching staff consists of assistant coaches Ashley Keels, Amy Heinzelmann, and Khalid Bashir;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball Team was also supported by one student-manager, Gracie Schuham-Anders;

ENROLLED ORIGINAL

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball Team is led by 2x DCSAA Class A Coach of the year, Pam Stanfield;

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School DCSAA Middle School Girl's Basketball championship winning team members include:

Naomi Berger
Della Blum
Cia Carr
Lindsay Fuzesi
Evy Gilroy
Emma Hantman
Lucille Hletko Wood
Alix Kennerly
Iris Leonard
Ella Maas
Jozi McDuffie
Hazel Schroeder

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Day School DCSAA Class A Women's Basketball championship winning team members include:

Madeline Allen
Evelyn Chen
Amira Comissiong
Teresa Dean
Sabine Hletko Wood
Kesi McDuffie
Madisyn Moore-Nicholson
Cai Roberson
Nevaeh Roberson
Meridian Stanbro

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, That this resolution may be cited as the "Georgetown Day School Girl's and Women's Basketball 2024 Championship Recognition Resolution of 2024."

Sec. 2. The Council of the District of Columbia recognizes and honors the Georgetown Day School Girls middle school girls basketball program for winning the 1st ever Middle School DCSAA City Basketball Championship and the Georgetown Day School Women's Varsity Basketball team for winning the 2024 DCSAA CLASS A Basketball Championship.

Sec. 3. This resolution shall take effect immediately.