25 LC 112 2748

House Resolution 65

By: Representatives Jasperse of the 11th, Dickey of the 134th, Hatchett of the 155th, Hagan of the 156th, and Erwin of the 32nd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the University of Georgia 4-H Program, Kingston Ryals, Melanie Biersmith,
- 2 and the 2024-2025 4-H Leadership Teams and recognizing February 25, 2025, as 4-H Day
- 3 at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Kingston Ryals of Toombs County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 8 State 4-H President; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Melanie Biersmith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension has
- 10 worked diligently as State 4-H Leader/Director of 4-H; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Robert Thomas of Putnam County,
- 12 Ceci Ward of Catoosa County, Chloe Bray of Johnson County, and Max Nelson of Tift
- 13 County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their
- election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2024-2025; and

25 LC 112 2748

15 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Tiffani

- 16 McClain of Jasper County, Tyson Mathis of Oconee County, Shubham Badve of Cobb
- 17 County, Kingston Ryals of Toombs County, Thomas Holt of Ben Hill County, and Colin
- 18 Williamson of Tift County for their selection as delegates for the 2024 National 4-H
- 19 Conference; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Lauren Coley of Bleckley County and Sophia Scott of Pickens County were
- 21 named 2024 Leadership in Action winners; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Leila Rimes of Tift County, Amiyah Elam of Ware County, Haya Fatmi of
- 23 Cobb County, Brittney Bryant of Toombs County, Tiffani McClain of Jasper County, and
- 24 Carolyn Thomas of Putnam County were named state winners in the 2024 Deans Awards
- 25 competition; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Patrick Willis of Berrien County was named the 2024 William H. Booth Award
- 27 Honoree; and
- 28 WHEREAS, Laura Mirarchi of Troup County received the 2024 Ryles Rising Star Award;
- 29 and
- 30 WHEREAS, Kristen Quinton of Bibb County was named the 2024 Volunteer of the Year;
- 31 and
- 32 WHEREAS, CJ Lee of Glynn County received the 2024 Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer
- 33 Award.

25 LC 112 2748

34 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

- 35 the members of this body commend the University of Georgia 4-H Program; Mr. Kingston
- 36 Ryals, State 4-H President; Ms. Melanie Biersmith, State 4-H Leader and Director of 4-H;
- 37 and the 2024-2025 4-H District Presidents, 2024 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2024
- 38 Leadership in Action winners, 2024 Deans Awards winners, 2024 William H. Booth Award
- 39 honoree, 2024 Ryles Rising Star Award recipient, 2024 Volunteer of the Year, and 2024
- 40 Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer Award recipient for their numerous accomplishments as well
- 41 as recognize February 25, 2025, as 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- 42 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 43 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 44 public and the press.