Senate Resolution 230

By: Senators Anderson of the 24th, Watson of the 11th, Sims of the 12th, Hatchett of the 50th, Goodman of the 8th and others

## A RESOLUTION

Recognizing and commending the Elbert/Franklin/Hart/Madison County Unit on being
 named the Georgia Forestry Commission 2022 North Georgia Unit of the Year; the
 Grady/Thomas County Unit on being named the 2022 South Georgia Unit of the Year; Area
 3 on being named the 2022 Forest Protection Area of the Year; Gabe Outlaw on being named
 the 2022 Forester of the Year; and the Cost Share Team on being named the 2022 Forest
 Management Team of the Year; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is "to provide leadership,
service and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and

9 WHEREAS, due to the outstanding accomplishments of the Elbert/Franklin/Hart/Madison 10 County Unit, the Grady/Thomas County Unit, and Forest Protection Area 3 in 2022 in the 11 areas of forest management, wildfire prevention and suppression, reforestation and seed 12 collection, community outreach and education, construction and building remodeling, and 13 storm relief efforts, the units were selected as the Georgia Forestry Commission's North 14 Georgia Unit of the Year, South Georgia Unit of the Year, and Forest Protection Area of the 15 Year; and WHEREAS, due to the outstanding accomplishments of the Cost Share Team in 2022, the
team was selected as the Georgia Forestry Commission's Forest Management Team of the
Year, and due to the outstanding accomplishments in all areas of forest management in 2022,
Gabe Outlaw was selected as Georgia Forestry Commission's Forester of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of these forestry units, forest protection area, forest management team, and Forester of the Year are a clear indication of the dedication and team work present, their willingness to take on additional responsibilities, and the consistently high level of forestry services provided over the course of many years despite limited personnel resources.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body commend these forestry units, forest protection area, forest management team, and Forester of the Year for being named the 2022 South Georgia Unit of the Year, North Georgia Unit of the Year, Forest Protection Area of the Year, and Forest Management Region of the Year.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Director Tim
Lowrimore.