## Senate Resolution 632

By: Senators Black of the 8th, Wilkinson of the 50th, Harper of the 7th, Anderson of the 24th and Walker III of the 20th

## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the University of Georgia 4-H Program and Arham Shah, Arch D. Smith, and

2 the 2019-2020 4-H Leadership Team and recognizing February 6, 2020, as 4-H Day at the

- 3 state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to

5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of

6 Georgia; and

7 WHEREAS, Arham Shah of Emanuel County serves with distinction and dedication as State
8 4-H President; and

- 9 WHEREAS, Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension has worked
- 10 diligently as State 4-H Leader/Director; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of District Presidents Drew Cribbs
- $12 \quad of Morgan County, Gray Beach of Chattooga County, James Poppell of Toombs County, and\\$
- 13 Cooper Hardy of Pulaski County have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their
- 14 election of each of these young people to serve as district presidents for 2019-2020; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in the citizenship and leadership of
- 16 Jaden Childree of Crawford County, Gracie McBride of Hall County, Rachel Tellano of Hart
- 17 County, and Jordan Daniels of Tift County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2019
- 18 National 4-H Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Gracie Grimes of Candler County and Victoria Day of Houston County were
- 20 named 2019 Leadership in Action winners; and

- 21 WHEREAS, Will Woodard of Morgan County, Bailey Ballard of Greene County, Victoria
- 22 Day of Houston County, Caleb Moseley of Bleckley County, and Payton Mercer of
- 23 Effingham County were named state winners in the 2019 Deans Awards competition; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Mason McClintock of Bacon County was selected as the winner of the 2019
- 25 National 4-H Youth in Action Citizenship Pillar Award; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Cole Cook of Bartow County was named the 2019 High Individual in National
- 27 4-H Shooting Sports Air Rifle; and
- 28 WHEREAS, Caroline Lord, Ericka Lord, Carlissa Stewart, and Aaliyah Ross of Ben Hill
- 29 County were declared the 2019 Winning Team in National 4-H Poultry Judging; and
- WHEREAS, Brandi McGonagill of Bleckley County was named the 2019 William H. Booth
  Award honoree; and
- WHEREAS, Crystal Perry of Sumter County received the 2019 Ryles Rising Star Award;and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Laural Moseley of Bleckley County was named the 2019 Volunteer of theYear; and
- WHEREAS, Melvina Carlan of Pickens County received the 2019 Outstanding LifetimeVolunteer Award; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Cisco Damons of Gwinnett County was named the 2019 Southern Region
  4-H Volunteer of the Year.
- 40 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body recognize February 6, 2020, as 4-H Day at the state capitol and commend the University of 41 Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Arham Shah, 42 43 State 4H President; Arch D. Smith, State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2019-2020 4-H district presidents; 2019 National 4-H Conference delegates; 2019 Leadership in Action winners; 44 2019 Deans Awards winners; 2019 National 4-H Youth in Action Citizenship Pillar Award 45 winner; 2019 High Individual in National 4-H Shooting Sports Air Rifle winner; 2019 46 47 Winning Team in National 4-H Poultry Judging; 2019 William H. Booth Award honoree; 2019 Ryles Rising Star winner; 2019 Volunteer of the Year winner; 2019 Outstanding 48

- 49 Lifetime Volunteer winner; and 2019 Southern Region 4-H Volunteer of the Year winner for
- 50 their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership they have demonstrated.
- 51 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 52 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the University of
- 53 Georgia Cooperative Extension.