23 LC 112 1244

Senate Resolution 68

By: Senators Walker III of the 20th, Goodman of the 8th, Dixon of the 45th, Echols of the 49th and Sims of the 12th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the University of Georgia 4-H Program and Ms. Venya Gunjal, Mrs. Melanie
- 2 Biersmith, and the 2022-2023 4-H Leadership Teams and recognizing February 8, 2023, as
- 3 4-H Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Ms. Venya Gunjal of Cobb County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 8 state 4-H president; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Melanie Biersmith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension
- 10 has worked diligently as state 4-H leader/director of 4-H; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Michael Campbell of
- 12 Athens-Clarke County, Naomi Jackson of Bibb County, Christopher Kuhbander of Ware
- 13 County, and Thomas Holt of Ben Hill County as district presidents have been acknowledged
- by the 4-H membership in their election of each of these young people to serve as president
- 15 for 2022-2023; and

23 LC 112 1244

16 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Laney

- 17 Cline of Cherokee County, Zoie Daughtry of Candler County, Evelyn Day of Houston
- 18 County, Alyssa Haag of Oconee County, Emily Pethel of Hall County, and Leah Szczepanski
- 19 of Oconee County is represented by their selection as delegates for the 2022 National 4-H
- 20 Conference; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Chanthony Andrews Jr. of Glynn County and Evelyn Day of Houston County
- 22 were named 2022 Leadership in Action winners; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Lexi Pritchard of Oconee County, Evelyn Day of Houston County, Savannah
- 24 Reynolds of Emanuel County, Alyssa Haag of Oconee County, Hinano Tomlinson of Sumter
- 25 County, Jhaycee Barnes of Spalding County, and Ms. Venya Gunjal of Cobb County were
- 26 named state winners in the 2022 Deans Awards competition; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Lexi Pritchard of Oconee County was named the 2022 National Winner of the
- 28 National Poultry Judging Contest; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Liam Jay, Ashley Braddy, Lauren Wixson, and Timothy Lord were named the
- 30 2022 National Winners of the National 4-H Consumer Judging Contest; and
- 31 WHEREAS, Sheila Marchant of Jeff Davis County was named the 2022 William H. Booth
- 32 Award Honoree; and
- 33 WHEREAS, Courtney Brown of Athens-Clarke County received the 2022 Ryles Rising Star
- 34 Award; and

23 LC 112 1244

35 WHEREAS, Jessica Collins of Houston County was named the 2022 Volunteer of the Year;

- 36 and
- 37 WHEREAS, Billy Wilkes of Columbia County received the 2022 Outstanding Lifetime
- 38 Volunteer Award.
- 39 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 40 commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H
- 41 Program; Ms. Venya Gunjal, state 4-H president; Mrs. Melanie Biersmith, state 4-H leader;
- 42 and each of the 2022-2023 4-H district presidents; 2022 National 4-H Conference delegates;
- 43 2022 Leadership in Action winners; 2022 Deans Awards winners; 2022 National Winner in
- 44 Poultry Judging; 2022 National Winners in the National Consumer Judging Contest; 2022
- William H. Booth Award Honoree; 2022 Ryles Rising Star winner; 2022 Volunteer of the
- 46 Year winner; and 2022 Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer winner for their numerous
- 47 accomplishments and for the leadership they have demonstrated as well as recognize
- 48 February 8, 2023, as 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- 49 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 50 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the University of
- 51 Georgia Cooperative Extension.