Senate Resolution 710

By: Senators Davenport of the 44th, Butler of the 55th, Jones of the 10th, Anderson of the 43rd, Harrell of the 40th and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating the Cedar Grove Saints for winning the 2019 GHSA Class 3A State Football

2 Championship; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the Cedar Grove Saints have established and maintained a proud tradition of
excellence with equal emphases on character and academics; and

5 WHEREAS, this superlative team has completed another triumphant season of football6 competition; and

WHEREAS, excellent play, superior teamwork, and extraordinary resilience made this team
a spectacular one to observe throughout the season, and as a fitting finale to its remarkable
2019 campaign, the team captured its third state football championship title in four years; and

WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding
athletic ability, dedication, hard work, and unity of purpose and spirit of each member of the
team; its superb offensive and defensive talents; and the astute direction of Head Coach
Miguel Patrick, Offensive Coordinator Lawrence Smith, and Coaches Michael Martin,
Frederick Sippal, Patrick Prioleau, Ramon Ward, Matt Dry, Craig Kyros, Henry Mabry,
Duran Hannah, Terrence Hill, John Adams, Kendrick Collier, and Ryan Witherspoon; and

WHEREAS, this all-star team included Isaiah Ratcliff, Alvin Williams, Austin Smith, 16 Chavon Wright, Travis Rivers, Rashod Dubinion, Jordan Grier, Coreyon Cone, Eric Harper, 17 Janiran Bonner, Latrelvin Blackamore, Langston White, Bernard Mack, Sam Pittman, Barry 18 Jackson, Justin Minitee, Adrian Stafford, Tee Denson, Timothy Newman, David 19 20 Blackmon-Hall, Nick Brannon, Johnny Fells, N'korian Newsome, James Moye, Mateen Smith, Antonio Taylor, Luis Dominguez, Zaire Prioleau, Domonique Davis, Kayin Lee, Sean 21 22 Otoo, William Flounroy, Brinson Modest, Montego Johnson, Ventrillo Dunlap, Everett Roussaw, Jared Holiday, Demarius Jackson, Chris Stinson, Christen Miller, Adonijah Green, 23 24 David Carter, Gregory Slaton, Daniel Carter, Joseph Reed, Jeremiah Smith, Solomn Hall,

- 25 Amarhi Summers, Spencer Yeaton, Keon Watson, Ken'Dell Brown, Carl Thomas, Brandon
- 26 Hall, Omari Walker, Koby Taylor, and Rodjel Caine; and
- 27 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by
- 28 performing with courage and precision over months of training and competition, it is
- abundantly proper to call them champions.
- 30 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 31 congratulate the Cedar Grove Saints for winning the 2019 GHSA Class 3A State Football
- 32 Championship and extend best wishes for their continued success.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 34 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the Cedar Grove
- 35 Saints.