LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY

OFFICE OF FISCAL AND MANAGEMENT ANALYSIS

200 W. Washington St., Suite 301 Indianapolis, IN 46204 (317) 233-0696 iga.in.gov

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

LS 7036 NOTE PREPARED: Feb 9, 2021 BILL NUMBER: SB 392 BILL AMENDED: Feb 8, 2021

SUBJECT: Marion County Zoning.

FIRST AUTHOR: Sen. Young M BILL STATUS: CR Adopted - 1st House

FIRST SPONSOR:

FUNDS AFFECTED: GENERAL IMPACT: Local

DEDICATED FEDERAL

Summary of Legislation: The bill provides in Marion County, the legislative body and the board of zoning appeals (BZA) of:

- (1) Lawrence, Speedway, Southport, or Beech Grove (excluded city) has exclusive territorial authority within the excluded city;
- (2) a township (excluding Center Township) has exclusive territorial authority within the area of the township located outside an excluded city; and
- (3) the city of Indianapolis, has exclusive territorial authority within the boundaries of Center Township.

Effective Date: July 1, 2021.

Explanation of State Expenditures:

Explanation of State Revenues:

Explanation of Local Expenditures: *Marion County Planning and Zoning:* Currently, Marion County has one BZA with jurisdiction outside the excluded cities. Workload could decrease for this BZA as the bill limits its jurisdiction to Center Township. The bill establishes BZAs for each of the other townships. Township BZAs are to have three members appointed by the township executive and two appointed by the township legislative body. For BZAs of excluded cities, the bill removes the two members appointed by the Metropolitan Development Commission and replaces them with two members appointed by the mayor of the excluded city (or the legislative body, if the excluded city does not have a mayor).

SB 392 1

For the purposes of planning and zoning, workload could decrease for the legislative body of Marion County, as the bill limits its jurisdiction to Center Township. Workload could increase for the township legislative bodies, as the bill gives them jurisdiction within their townships and outside the excluded cities. The bill maintains the jurisdiction for the legislative bodies of excluded cities to areas within their boundaries.

Explanation of Local Revenues:

State Agencies Affected:

<u>Local Agencies Affected:</u> Marion County townships; Metropolitan Development Commission; excluded cities: Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport, and Speedway.

<u>Information Sources:</u> Auditor MVHA data, FY 2020. https://www.indy.gov/activity/board-of-zoning-appeals-bza

Fiscal Analyst: Heather Puletz, 317-234-9484.

SB 392 2