

## HOUSE RESOLUTION No.

Introduced by: Aylesworth

1 A HOUSE RESOLUTION recognizing Indiana 4-H's work 2 to advance positive youth development in the state.

Whereas, Indiana 4-H was established in 1904 in Hamilton
County by John F. Haines, a school superintendent, to develop
young boys and girls in the state;

Whereas, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of Indiana;

Whereas, The Purdue University Extension 4-H youth development program offers educational programming in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, healthy living, and civic engagement to over 163,000 youth each year in partnership with all 92 Indiana counties and thousands of

20242280



1	4-H volunteers;
2	Whereas, Community clubs, after-school programs,
3	in-school programs, camps, and workshops give 4-H members
4	across Indiana an opportunity to be among the youngest
5	students at Purdue University;
6	Whereas, Indiana 4-H successfully prepares youth for
7	employment, enlistment, and education, with 72 percent of
8	Indiana 4-H high school graduates having attended
9	post-secondary institutions over the past six years, and 86
10	percent of those were enrolled at institutions within the state of
11	Indiana;
12	Whereas, Travis Barnhart of Marshall County, Shelby Davis
13	of Jennings County, Audrey Fisher of Posey County, Noah
14	Miller of Lake County, Kylee Reeves of Montgomery County,
15	Isabel Sayre of Benton County, and Emma Wooley of Union
16	County serve with distinction and dedication as the 2023-24
17	class of Indiana 4-H ambassadors, representing the interests,
18	beliefs, and desires of all 4-H members of the state;
19	Whereas, Lora Commens of Posey County, Kaylyn Zeigler
20	of Cass County, Danessa Hoffman of LaGrange County,
21	Rosalind Kidwell of Warrick County, Roman Peterson of
22	Fayette County, Jace Duttlinger of Spencer County, Colton
23	Neal of Lake County, and Troy Wolters of Boone County were
24	selected to represent Indiana at the 102nd National 4-H
25	Congress;
26	Whereas, McKinley Underhill of Hamilton County was
27	selected to serve as a leader for the 2023 National 4-H
28	Congress Design Team; and
29	Whereas, It is fitting and proper that the outstanding
30	accomplishments of these extraordinary individuals be
31	recognized: Therefore,
32	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the
33	General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

20242280



HR 1520/DI 140 2024

SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives

34

recognizes February 13, 2024, as 4-H Day at the Statehouse and commends the Purdue University Extension 4-H youth development program and each of the nationally recognized and state recognized honorees for their numerous accomplishments and the leadership they have demonstrated.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit copies of this resolution to State Representative Mike Aylesworth for distribution to the Purdue Extension 4-H youth development program.

