Introduced Version

HOUSE RESOLUTION No.

Introduced by: Moseley

1	A HOUSE RESOLUTION congratulating the Chesterton
2	High School speech and debate team.
3	Whereas, The Chesterton High School debate team won the
4	Indiana High School Forensic Association (IHSFA) contest,
5	earning the team its fifth consecutive state championship and
6	28th overall;
7	Whereas, The Chesterton team scored 111 total points to set
8	a new record for total points at the state meet;
9	Whereas, This year's team was made up of 32 students;
10	Whereas, Students compete in five events Policy Debate,
11	Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Congressional Debate, Public Forum
12	Debate, and World School Debate and must combine

20182462



excellence with depth in these events to win the overall 1 2 championship; 3 Whereas, Benjamin Hoham and Matthew Jewison (champions), Madison Simms and Sofia Winski (runners-up), 4 J.D. Cory and Devin Michael (quarterfinalists), Ethan Dibble 5 and Ryan Donovan (quarterfinalists) were members of the 6 7 *Policy Debate event that compete in two-member teams;* 8 Whereas, Camma Duhammel (champion), Hannah Geiss (runner-up), Samuel Winski (octafinalist), and Elli Didonna 9 10 participated in the Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Whereas, Paul Petro (champion), Megan Daye (third), Sid 11 Augustyn (sixth), and Creighton Gaff (ninth) competed in the 12 *Congressional Debate;* 13 Balakir 14 Whereas, Katelyn and Grace Whah (quarterfinalists), Emily Krygoske and Zachary Mullins 15 (quarterfinalists), Ryan Day and Connor Wantuch, and Bella 16 17 Jennings and Salomae Minniear participated in the Public 18 *Forum Debate in which two students compete as a team;* 19 Whereas, Azeez Lakhani, Branden Wong, Jenna Aguilar, and Nick Hanson (quarterfinalists) and Joshua Hogan, Anekah 20 Fish, Luke Caylor, and Sanjana Raj debated in the World 21 School Debate in which four students operate as a team; 22 Whereas, Teachers Chris Lowery, Joshua Coots, Dakota 23 McCoy, and alumni Kaley Brown and Michael Anderson were 24 the coaches for the record-setting team; and 25 Whereas, It is fitting that the success of these remarkable 26 young Hoosiers be given special recognition: Therefore, 27 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the 28 General Assembly of the State of Indiana: 29 SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives 30 congratulates the Chesterton High School speech and debate 31 team on its 28th Indiana High School Forensic Association state 32 debate title and its fifth in a row. 33



1 SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of 2 Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to each 3 member of the Chesterton High School speech and debate team, 4 coaches Chris Lowery, Joshua Coots, Dakota McCoy, Kaley 5 Brown, and Michael Anderson; Principal Jeff Van Drie; and 6 Superintendent Dr. Ginger Bolinger.

20182462

