

HOUSE RESOLUTION No. ____

Introduced by: Morris

- A HOUSE RESOLUTION congratulating the Bishop Dwenger girls soccer team on winning the 2020 Indiana High
- 3 School Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class 2A state
- 4 championship title.
- 5 Whereas, The Bishop Dwenger High School girls soccer
- 6 team captured the 2020 IHSAA Class 2A championship title by
- 7 beating Indianapolis Cathedral High School;
- 8 Whereas, The team consists of teammates Cecilia Garrett,
- 9 Karley O'Leary, Callie Burns, Avery Ledo, Megan Guzhnay,
- 10 Grace Morris, Leah Reese, Evelyn Harkenrider, Ellen Hartzog,
- 11 Augusta A'Hearn, Kelly Connolly, Ava Slater, Lucy Bryan,
- 12 Isabelle Sherman, Faith Lewis, Emma Farrar, Lily Haraburda,
- 13 McKenna Kleinrichert, Grace Hein, Erynn Burns, Karly Ewing,
- 14 and Sophia Sordelet;

20212759



1	Whereas, To earn their spot in the state championship
2	match, the Saints defeated the Yorktown Tigers in the regional
3	championship, and the Culver Eagles in the semi-state
4	championship;
5	Whereas, Fighting for the state title, the two teams were
6	deadlocked throughout regulation time and two overtime
7	periods, until teammate Grace Morris outshot the Irish in the
8	first round of sudden-death, clinching the win for the Saints;
9	Whereas, Though Cathedral had a chance to take the state
10	title on its final penalty kick in the first penalty kick shootout,
11	Saints goalkeeper Cecilia Garrett made a quick save to her left,
12	forcing the sudden-death round;
13	Whereas, The Saints, led by coach James McCaig, finished
14	the season with a 17-0-1 record and earned the school's first
15	state championship in girls soccer since 2006; and
16	Whereas, Bishop Dwenger's hard work, grit, and
17	determination were key to the team's success in winning the
18	state title: Therefore,
19	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the
20	General Assembly of the State of Indiana:
21	SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives
22	congratulates the Bishop Dwenger High School girls soccer
23	team on winning the 2020 IHSAA Class 2A State
24	Championship.
25	SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of
26	Representatives shall transmit copies of this resolution to the
27	office of State Representative Robert Morris for distribution.

