Introduced Version

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Bishop Dwenger Saints hockey team on winning the Indiana State High School Hockey Association ("ISHSHA") Class 2A state championship.

BROWN L

, read first time and referred to Committee on



Introduced

First Regular Session 120th General Assembly (2017)

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Bishop
2	Dwenger Saints hockey team on winning the Indiana State High School
3	Hockey Association ("ISHSHA") Class 2A state championship.
4	Whereas, On March 11, 2017, the Bishop Dwenger Saints
5	won the Indiana State High School Hockey Association
6	("ISHSHA") Class 2A state championship title at the Ice Box
7	in South Bend, Indiana;
8	Whereas, The Bishop Dwenger Saints defeated Adams-
9	Marian in a fast-paced, high-scoring contest that ended with
10	the final score of 7-4 in the Class 2A championship game;
11	Whereas, Scoring for the Saints were junior Joshua
12	Kucharski (#19), senior captain Jared Lamothe (#11), and
13	senior captain Jacob Yehle (#6);
14	Whereas, Jared Lamothe led the attack with five goals in
15	the contest;
16	Whereas, Senior goaltender Ron Frank stopped 17 of the
17	21 shots he faced to help backstop the Saints to the victory;
18	Whereas, Senior alternate captain Isaac Landstoffer (#15)
19	set up several of Lamothe's tallies with three assists on the
20	day;



RC 1560/DI HE

1 Whereas, For seniors Ron Frank, Jared Lamothe, and 2 Jacob Yehle, this victory completed the bookend to their high 3 school careers - they were freshmen on the Saints' last state 4 title team in 2014;

- 5 Whereas, For the rest of the Saints, this was the reward 6 for their endless hours of sacrifice for games, practice, off-ice 7 training, and film review sessions;
- 8 Whereas, The Saints finished the season with a 27-17-0 9 record;
- 10 *Whereas, The Saints are led by Head Coach Stephen* 11 *Yackley and Assistant Coaches John Shupe and Gregg James;*

Whereas, The Bishop Dwenger Saints roster consists of 12 Ron Frank (#1-Senior-Goaltender), Luke McClung (#2-13 Junior-Defense), Aiden Parrot (#4-Freshman-Forward), 14 Jacob Yehle (Captain-#6-Senior-Forward), Nick Kucharski 15 (#7-Freshman-Forward), Michael Zaremba (#8-Junior-16 Forward), Grant Wagner (#9-Sophomore-Forward), Ben 17 James (#10-Junior-Forward), Jared Lamothe (Captain-#11-18 19 Senior-Forward), Ben Edwards (#12-Senior-Forward), Cole 20 Light (#13-Junior-Defense), JD Woods (#14-Sophomore-Defense), Isaac Landstoffer (Alternate Captain-#15-Senior-21 Defense), Chase Kohlmeyer (#16-Freshman-Defense), Griffin 22 Knipscheer (#17-Junior-Forward), Nick James (#18-23 Freshman-Forward), Joshua Kucharski (#19-Junior-24 Forward), Sam Backstrom (#26-Freshman-Forward), 25 Brendan Hensley (#27-Junior-Defense), and Nicklas Allen 26 (#50-Freshman-Goaltender); 27

28 Whereas, The young men of the Bishop Dwenger Saints 29 hockey team are student-athletes who balanced countless 30 hours of hockey practice, training, and games on top of a full 31 academic course load, and the Indiana General Assembly 32 commends these young men for their commitment to both 33 academics and athletics; and



2017

Whereas, It is fitting that the Indiana General Assembly 1 2 congratulates the Bishop Dwenger Saints hockey team on its 2017 Indiana State High School Hockey Association 3 4 ("ISHSHA") Class 2A championship title: Therefore, Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly 5 6 of the State of Indiana, the House of Representatives concurring: SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly 7 congratulates the Bishop Dwenger Saints hockey team on its 8 2017 Indiana State High School Hockey Association 9 ("ISHSHA") Class 2A championship title. 10 SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed 11 to transmit a copy of this Resolution to each player on the 12 Bishop Dwenger Saints hockey team, Head Coach Stephen 13 Yackley, and Assistant Coaches John Shupe and Gregg James. 14



RC 1560/DI HE