## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES RESOLUTION NO.6006

A RESOLUTION recognizing January 21, 2011, as Dentist Appreciation Day.

WHEREAS, the 10th Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Project will be held on January 21 and 22 of 2011 in Hutchinson, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Mission of Mercy held its first Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Project in Garden City in February 2003, and since then, has held eight other projects in Garden City, Kansas City, Pittsburg, Wichita, Salina, Topeka, Manhattan, and Independence; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Project was created to provide free dental care to low-income patients across Kansas; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Project provides cleanings, fillings and extractions, and other dental services at no cost to both children and adults; and

WHEREAS, at the nine Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Projects to date, 521 Kansas dentists have volunteered and provided free dental care; and

WHEREAS, through the nine Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Projects, Kansas dentists have treated more than 17,500 patients with free dental care valued at more than \$8.5 million; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Project has been integral to the creation of a nationwide dental Mission of Mercy effort; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Project is a project of the Kansas Dental Charitable Foundation; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Dental Association founded the Kansas Dental Charitable Foundation in 2002 as a 501(c)(3) foundation: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we hereby recognize January 21, 2011, as Dentist Appreciation Day to honor the charitable spirit of Kansas dentists who have given countless hours to provide free dental care through the Kansas Mission of Mercy Dental Projects.

House Resolution No. 6006 was sponsored by Representatives Michael O'Neal, Janice Pauls and Joe Seiwert.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

	-
	Speaker of the House.
	Speaker of the House.
	Chief Clerk of the House.