## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1705**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2025 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers, one elementary and one secondary, in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the award recipient being chosen from among the eight finalists; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded with the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2025 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet on September 28, 2024. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Elizabeth Anstine, Leavenworth USD 453; and the regional finalists are: Maegen Stucky, McPherson USD 418; Whitney Aves, Hutchinson USD 308; Benjamin Eckelberry, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Amber Pagan, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Ryan Mellick, Bonner Springs-Edwardsville USD 204; Olivia Winegeart, Derby USD 260; and Erik Stone, Wichita USD 259: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2025 Kansas Teacher of the Year team; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Erickson.

Senate Resolution No. 1705 was sponsored by Senator Renee Erickson.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	_
<u>-</u>	President of the Senate.
<u>-</u>	Secretary of the Senate.