AN ACT relating to the Board of Medical Licensure.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

- → Section 1. KRS 311.530 is amended to read as follows:
- (1) There is hereby created in state government an independent board to be known as the State Board of Medical Licensure which shall exercise all medical and osteopathic licensure functions heretofore exercised by the State Board of Health. The offices of the board shall be maintained at such place as is designated by the board.
- (2) The board shall consist of fifteen (15) members, including the commissioner of public health, the dean of the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, the vice dean for clinical affairs of the University of Louisville School of Medicine, the dean of the University of Pikeville School of Osteopathic Medicine, and eleven (11) members appointed by the Governor.
- (3) Of the Governor's appointees:
 - (a) One (1) member shall be a licensed osteopathic physician and shall be appointed from a list of three (3) names submitted by the Kentucky Osteopathic Association;
 - (b) Seven (7) members shall be licensed medical physicians and <u>shall[may]</u> be appointed from a list of three (3) names submitted for each position by the Kentucky Medical Association[. In making appointments under this paragraph, the Governor shall ensure that the physician members represent different specialties from a broad cross section of the medical profession]; and
 - (c) Three (3) members shall be citizens at large who are representatives of any recognized consumer advocacy groups with an interest in the delivery of health care and are not associated with or financially interested in the practice or business regulated.