A RESOLUTION honoring the Belfry High School football team on winning the 3A Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl.

WHEREAS, the Belfry High School Pirates entered the 2015 season as defending 3A state champions, and began their title defense under the pressure that accompanies all winning teams with championship traditions; and

WHEREAS, Belfry responded to that pressure by completing another extraordinary season, winning 14 games against only one loss and capturing its third consecutive 3A state championship. The state title was Belfry's fifth, and they were the first eastern Kentucky school to accomplish back-to-back-to-back championships since Pikeville from 1987 to 1989; and

WHEREAS, on December 6, 2015, the Belfry Pirates took on the Lexington Catholic Knights at Houchens Industries/L.T. Smith Stadium for the class 3A championship. The Pirates' stifling defense held Lexington Catholic without a single point, and led on offense by Andrew Fletcher (125 yards and two touchdowns), Derek Wellman (89 yards and two touchdowns), Xondre Willis (89 yards and a touchdown), and Noah Corbett (63 yards and a touchdown), the Pirates' ground game secured a 43-0 victory and another state championship; and

WHEREAS, this honorable body hereby congratulates Belfry High School upon its third consecutive class 3A KHSAA state championship; commends Coach Philip Haywood and his talented coaching staff for their hard work and dedication; and offers its sincere appreciation to all the families, the support staff, and the administration at Belfry High School who have helped these young men grow on and off the field;

NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

→Section 1. The Senate honors the Belfry High School football team upon winning the 2015 3A Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl, and

recognizes the time and effort put in by all the players, coaches, and support staff to help make the season a success.

→ Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the Belfry High School football team.

→Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this Resolution to Senator Ray S. Jones II for delivery.