2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 116

BY REPRESENTATIVES ANDERS, CHANEY, HAZEL, PYLANT, AND SCHEXNAYDER

A RESOLUTION

To commend three legendary Louisiana titans of agriculture, Mayther "Ray" Young, Charles "Buck" Vandersteen, and James Graugnard, Sr., posthumously, for their induction into the Louisiana Agricultural Hall of Distinction.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Radio Network, LSU Agricultural Center, Louisiana Farm Bureau, and the Department of Agriculture and Forestry recognize the importance of agriculture, forestry, and agri-business in Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, these same organizations recognize outstanding service and leadership to Louisiana agriculture, forestry, and agri-business by creating the Louisiana Agricultural Hall of Distinction; and

WHEREAS, the nominees for this recognition come from throughout Louisiana, undergoing a rigorous review process and selection by a panel of agricultural leaders; and

WHEREAS, Mayther "Ray" Young is a certified crop consultant with a lifelong career in farming and helping farmers throughout Louisiana. Young pioneered "no-till" technology used on farms throughout Louisiana and the South. He and his family are farmers producing a variety of crops including cotton, soybeans, sweet potatoes, corn, vegetables, pine trees, and cattle. Young served as a pilot in the Navy, mayor of Wisner, and a board member and chairman of Louisiana Land Bank. Young received the Louisiana State Conservation Award, the 4-H Silver Clover Award, the Life-Long Producer Award, Progressive Farmer Magazine's Man of the Year in Service to Agriculture, LSU Alumnus of the Year in Agriculture, and National Consultant of the Year by Cotton Farming Magazine; and WHEREAS, Charles "Buck" Vandersteen is a forester and tree farmer and has served as the executive director of the Louisiana Forestry Association for the past 34 years. Vandersteen is a fellow in the Society of American Foresters, a past president of the National Council of Forestry Association Executives, past president of the Louisiana Society of Association Executives, and past member of the board of directors of Louisiana Land Bank. He received the Distinguished Service to Forestry Award and is a graduate of the LSU Agricultural Leadership Development Program. Vandersteen's leadership has contributed to the growth of sustainable forestry and professional logging practices in Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, James Graugnard, Sr., posthumously, was nominated for the time and resources he dedicated to the betterment of the farmers and people of Louisiana. Graugnard had profound influence on Louisiana agriculture while serving as president of the Louisiana Farm Bureau during his distinguished career of 26 years. His legislative relationships played a huge role in the state capitol as well as in congress furthering farm legislation that helped farmers do a better job farming and marketing their crops. Graugnard was a farmer with a variety of crops grown on his 2,300 acre farm. The diversity of crops gave him the experience to communicate with a variety of farmers, researchers, and lawmakers on issues of farm policy and regulations. He was a veteran of World War II serving with the Marines and Air Force.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the contributions of Mayther "Ray" Young, Charles "Buck" Vandersteen, and James Graugnard, Sr., to agriculture, forestry, and agribusinesses of Louisiana and well-deserved induction into the Louisiana Agricultural Hall of Distinction.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each individual or his surviving family member.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES