2016 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 190

BY REPRESENTATIVES DEVILLIER, ABRAHAM, BACALA, BERTHELOT, BISHOP, CHAD BROWN, COUSSAN, DWIGHT, EMERSON, HENSGENS, HOFFMANN, HUVAL, NANCY LANDRY, LEBAS, MIGUEZ, MONTOUCET, REYNOLDS, SCHEXNAYDER, SHADOIN, AND THIBAUT

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Louisiana State University Eunice Lady Bengals softball team upon winning the 2016 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II national championship.

WHEREAS, powered by four home runs, Louisiana State University (LSU) Eunice captured the 2016 title of national champions in National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division II softball, and they did so in commanding fashion with a 12-4 victory over Jones County Junior College on Saturday, May 21, 2016, at Traceway Park; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Bengals earned their fourth national title in five years, with their previous titles having been achieved in 2011, 2013, and 2014; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of head coach Andy Lee, the Lady Bengals completed a season of fifty-eight wins against just eight losses, knocked in five hundred fifty-four runs, and had a team batting average of .383 with eighty-eight phenomenal home runs; and

WHEREAS, the level of dominance displayed by the LSU Eunice Lady Bengals in the 2016 national NJCAA championship finals is the result of years of hard work by the student athletes, solid coaching, commitment from parents, and the backing of the college and community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest levels of excellence throughout the season, and each Lady Bengal deserves recognition for her vital contributions to the winning effort; and WHEREAS, team members Jeannemarie Angelle, Kaitlyn Bertot, Darby Bishop, Alli Daigle, Jordan Dougherty, Madison Edmonston, Kristyn Fairchild, Elizabeth Fontenot, Olivia Gabor, Mary Guillory, Jordan Hartman, Jaci Lavigne, Savannah LeJeune, Abigail Leonards, Abby Mondy, Mallory Perrault, Jessica Thomas, Logan Thomas, Rebecca Skains, Bobbi Smith, Hannah Vidallier, Hope Vizinat, and Molly Wilson were guided by head coach Andy Lee and his assistant, Haley McCall, and hard work and dedication led the team to this year's championship; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Lady Bengals have earned; to commend the team for the ability it has displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to the team members and coaching staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest national softball honor possible for Louisiana State University Eunice.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the athletes and coaching staff of the LSU Eunice softball team for winning the 2016 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II championship, capping off a truly spectacular season; and does hereby recognize the team's outstanding performance and the pride and honor they have brought to the college and community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to head coach Andy Lee.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES