2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 49

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER AND PRICE

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Lutcher High School football team upon winning the 2016 Class 3A state championship.

WHEREAS, for the second straight year, the Lutcher High School football team has earned the Class 3A football championship title in Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the Bulldogs of Lutcher High School were led by first-year coach Dwain Jenkins, a former Lutcher quarterback, to a 13-2 season that culminated in a December 10, 2016, LHSAA Prep Classic showdown at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans against Amite High School; and

WHEREAS, down by two points at halftime, senior quarterback Jontre Kirklin drove the Lutcher Bulldogs to outscore their opponents by a margin of fourteen points in the third quarter to take control of the game; Kirklin piled up 223 yards on the ground, passed for 158 yards, and scored four total touchdowns to earn the Most Outstanding Player award for Lutcher High School; and

WHEREAS, this thrilling 40-36 victory marked the Bulldogs' eighth Class 3A state football championship, its first repeat, and the culmination of a memorable first season for Coach Jenkins, his staff, and players; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the 2016 regular season and the playoffs, and each of these talented Bulldogs deserves recognition for his vital contributions to the winning effort: Calvin Adams, Daevon Adams, Dequindouis Alexander, Courtney Allen, Cameron Amato, Brayden Bauer, Alexander Beier, Tariq Belvin, Alec Bland, Ethan Bland, Gabriel Bland, Darryn Bolding, Jacob Boneno, Drake Boudwin, Kolby Bourgeois, Sloan Brignac, Chris Burkhalter, Jaylin

HR NO. 49 ENROLLED

Burns, Charles Chapman, Ivan Clark, Gregory Clayton, James Compare, Al'Dontre Davis, Sinclair Davis, Deonte Dennison, Calvin Domangue, Lamar Felton, Keiron Goudia, Raynell Hayes, Bronson Himel, Jeremiah Jackson, Norris Johnson, Tahmaz Jones, Jacoi Kelson, Jontre Kirklin, Drake Lafleur, Seth LeBlanc, Taitin Levet, Cayman Long, Rashaud Long, Clarence Lotts, Stephen Major, Zane Mccrary, Rondell Mealey, Canara Miles, Je'Quiz Miller, Alan Mince, Devin Monica, Bryan Morgan, Keanu Oubre, Alvin Parnell, Samuel Piazza, Colten Poche, Rashaun Preston, Dylan Recotta, Joseph Rawls, Collin St. Pierre, Addison Schexnayder, Devin Schexnayder, Darrion Scott, Rowdy Scott, Ernest Sieber, Allen Smith, Daymond Smith, Tre Stewart, Dustin Storks, Joshua Taylor, Jamal Thomas, Jamel Thomas, Thaddeus Watis, Sebastian West, Jesse White, Cowen Wiggins, Jace Williams, Jacoby Williams, Markwon Williams, Rashon Williams, Cade Williamson, Jeremy Wilson, and Daylon Winfield; and

WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of athletic director and head football coach Dwain Jenkins and his staff, Troy Borne, Cory Bourgeois, Logan Bourgeois, Chad Carter, Chris Daigle, Xyviara Davis, Ashton Duhe, Joshua Dunn, Scott Giardina, Dylan Hymel, Troy Johnson, Kim Lacombe, Austin Laiche, Conor Louque, Rob Ocmond, Sylvest Oubre, Lily Patterson, Matty Poche, Michaela Poche, Lanny Remondet, Jake Richardson, Amanda St. Pierre, Bryce Scott, Brad Smith, Amber Theisges, Josef Venus, Craig Zeringue; the support of Lutcher High School's administrative staff, Superintendent Ed Cancienne, Assistant Principal Andy Hopkins, Assistant Principal Amy Laiche, Assistant Principal Angie Poche, and Principal Molly Stadalis; and the passion of the many Bulldog fans whose enthusiastic following contributes to the continued success of the school's football program; and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2016 season upholds the glorious tradition of the Bulldogs, and it is fitting to recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy the team brings to Lutcher High School, St. James Parish, and the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Lutcher High School football team upon winning the 2016 Class 3A state championship; does hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of football; and does hereby extend best wishes

HR NO. 49 ENROLLED

to the players, coaches, and all involved with this outstanding football program as they celebrate their championship season and prep for success in the years to come.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Dwain Jenkins.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES