BY SENATOR MURRAY

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To declare June 25, 2011, as "New Orleans Alumnae Chapter Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated Day" in celebration of the seventy-five years of sisterhood and service and whose legacy is "Community Service from the Heart".

WHEREAS, in 1936 in the midst of the federal government's "New Deal" eleven women (Ema Joyce Adams Bailey, Jessie Covington Dent, Julia Washington Bond, Irene Colbert Edmonds, Melva Dier Borris, Oralee Baranco Mitchell, Sadie N. Boyce, Sylvia A. Labat Randall, Elizabeth Stubbs Davis, Estelle V. Baranco Turpin and Naomi E. Evans Washington) "filled with faith and hope" organized and applied for a charter from the Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, and on June 20, 1936, the group was issued a charter for Alpha Zeta Sigma, which on November 20, 1936, became Alpha Eta Sigma and due to a change in Delta's nomenclature became New Orleans Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, the members of the New Orleans Alumnae Chapter have been in the forefront of social change in the greater New Orleans community and the membership has grown from its humble and forceful eleven members to over 350 informed and socially responsible members; and

WHEREAS, the impact of the New Orleans Alumnae Chapter of the Greater New Orleans community is enhanced by the creative, collaborative and awarding programs which are the implementation of the Five Point Thrust of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, from the able leadership of the chapter, sorors have been elected or appointed to state, regional and national positions in the sorority; and

SCR NO. 89 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the New Orleans Alumnae Chapter is the proud home of the sorority's

First 2nd National Vice President, the late Mattie Clarkson Braden, two past Southwest

Regional Directors, Gloria Bryant-Banks and Cynthia Butler-McIntyre, the immediate past

National Treasurer, Carolyn E. Lewis, another jewel in the New Orleans Alumnae crown;

and

WHEREAS, the Chapter is also the home of the first National President in the

Southwest Region, Cynthia Butler-McIntyre who is presently serving her second term as

24th National President of the Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated;

and

WHEREAS, during its seventy-five year history, the New Orleans Alumnae Chapter

has experienced growth, prosperity, and the devastation of Hurricane Katrina, and the

sorority has risen above obstacles and challenges to continue the developments of its

illustrious history of public service and answer the call of the African American community.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana hereby declares

June 25, 2011, as "New Orleans Alumnae Chapter Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated

Day" in celebration of the seventy-five years of sisterhood and service in the city of New

Orleans and whose legacy is "Community Service from the Heart".

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

New Orleans Alumnae Chapter Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2