BY SENATOR PERRY

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Kaplan Telephone Company on the occasion of its sixtieth anniversary.

WHEREAS, on May 16, 2012, Kaplan Telephone Company will recognize and celebrate its sixtieth anniversary; and

WHEREAS, the Kaplan Telephone Company was originally formed in 1916, built and operated by Mr. M. I. Ramsey of Gueydan, Louisiana, who sold the company to Mr. Elliot J. Hebert in 1923, and Mr. Hebert and his family operated the company until 1952; and

WHEREAS, in March 1952, Mr. Lytle C. Turnley bought the Kaplan Telephone Company at which time there were 407 telephones in Kaplan and 70 farmer-owned lines; and

WHEREAS, between 1952 and 1953, the telephone system was improved by changing from the old Magneta Switchboard to a more modernized common battery or "Flash" Switchboard as customers could pick up their phones rather than crank them and subscribership increased to 800; and

WHEREAS, in 1955, the telephone office moved to its present location on Irving Avenue, the company converted to the dial system, and the operator now located a party by number rather than name; and

WHEREAS, by November 1956, the conversion was completed and rural lines were built as far as Forked Island and ninety per cent of farmer-owned lines had been converted to company-owned lines; and

WHEREAS, Kaplan was one of the first smaller towns to convert to the dial system and telecommunications service expanded to 1,243 telephones in the area; and

WHEREAS, during 1957 through 1959, telephone service was completed in Pecan Island and the first "mobile" car telephone was introduced; and

WHEREAS, at the end of 1964, there was a complete central office and switching

SR NO. 116 ENROLLED

system in Forked Island and telecommunications service had been expanded to 300 telephones in that area; and

WHEREAS, in the 1970s the company introduced its paging system; and

WHEREAS, in 1979 the entire phone system was converted to a digital system and numerous features were added such as Call Waiting, Call Forwarding, and Hot Lines; and

WHEREAS, in 1985, telecommunications service was extended to Freshwater City, on the Louisiana Gulf Coast; and

WHEREAS, in 1990, Kaplan Telephone Company entered into the wireless communications world with a new company called PACE Cellular Communications which serves all of Vermilion Parish with numerous products such as cellular communications, and voice mail; and

WHEREAS, in August 1996, Kaplan Telephone Company began its Internet service called KaplanTel.net and in July 2000, KaplanTel.net subscribers had the option of switching from their current dial-up accounts to new High Speed Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) accounts; and

WHEREAS, in 2001, KTC Telecom expanded its fiber optic network into Abbeville to serve business customers with state of the art broadband communications; in 2003, PACE deployed advanced digital communications cellular service ("GSM") throughout its service area and initiated cable television in the form of IPTV, an advanced all IP based television service that provides not only digital television services but also HD TV services; and

WHEREAS, in 2005, the company began deploying fiber optic technology to every home in Kaplan; and

WHEREAS, recently, KTC Telecom began offering Security & Surveillance technology, an alarm monitoring and camera installation system, to safeguard its customers throughout Vermilion Parish, which crowns KTC as one of the few telecommunications providers in the Gulf South with a holistic and true one stop shop resource for its customers; and

WHEREAS, in the near future, KTC and PACE are planning to build 3G & 4G wireless services for its customers which will provide tremendous opportunities for business and residential customers throughout Vermilion Parish.

SR NO. 116 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Kaplan Telephone Company on the occasion of its sixtieth anniversary.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Kaplan Telephone Company.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE