BY SENATOR ALLAIN

A RESOLUTION

To commend Heather Gros on being named the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year by the St.

Mary Parish School Board and the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year at Bayou Vista Elementary School.

WHEREAS, Heather Gros is a graduate of Berwick High School and received a bachelor of science degree in middle school education from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette in May 2010; and

WHEREAS, she was a teacher intern at Raintree Elementary School from January to May 2010 and subsequently began her career teaching the fourth grade at Bayou Vista Elementary School in August 2010; and

WHEREAS, Heather Gros was nominated as Teacher of the Year by her colleagues and school administrators; and

WHEREAS, in her three years as a teacher at Bayou Vista Elementary School, she has made a significant impact in the academic success of her students by introducing the iPod and iPad into the classroom and by using digital media as a teaching tool; and

WHEREAS, in addition to her scholastic contributions, Mrs. Gros was named Assessment Pep Rally Coordinator and school spirit chairperson; and

WHEREAS, she has earned the enduring appreciation of many for the extraordinary way in which she has devoted her energy and talents to the academic development of her students; and

WHEREAS, Heather Gros merits a special measure of commendation for her outstanding accomplishments in teaching and for the pride and honor she brings to the students at Bayou Vista Elementary School, to St. Mary Parish, and to the state of Louisiana.

SR NO. 185 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Heather Gros on being named the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year by the St. Mary Parish School Board and the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year at Bayou Vista Elementary School, recognize her notable contributions to her students, colleagues, and community, and extend best wishes for continued success, prosperity, and happiness in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Heather Gros.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE