BY SENATORS KOSTELKA AND WALSWORTH

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Ruston High School Cheerleader team and coaches upon receipt of their 2012 National Cheerleader Association Championship in the Game Time Division.

WHEREAS, the Ruston High School Cheerleaders began their climb to national prominence with three wins at the Louisiana High School Athletic Association State Championship in the divisions of Timeout Cheer, Fight Song, and Non-Tumbling Performance, and was the only squad to win multiple awards; and

WHEREAS, in 2012, at the National Cheerleaders Association competition in Dallas, Texas, the Ruston High School Cheerleader Squad garnered the National Championship title in the Game Time Division, against thirty-two other well appointed squads; and

WHEREAS, to capture this division, the Ruston High Cheerleaders excelled in stunning combinations of dance moves, acrobatic stunts, fight songs, and cheers; and

WHEREAS, the cheer squad also attained a hard-fought third place victory in the Non-Tumbling Performance Division; and

WHEREAS, cheerleader teams are rated on many technical aspects that include high-flying aerials and acrobatics that thrill the crowd, pyramid formations, multiple stunts, and seamless transitions from one routine to another; and

WHEREAS, cheerleaders are also judged on attitude, appearance, execution, cheer composition, crowd response, and overall appeal; and

WHEREAS, the thirty-two person competitive team is comprised of members chosen from varsity, junior varsity and freshman cheer squads; those team members include Emaleigh Bickham, DeJayla Chambers, Savannah Chrisman, Emily Colvin, Emily Compton, Amber Crawford, Te-Air Douglas, Caitlin Elliott, Taylor Evans, Ansleigh Faile, Avery Givens, Chandler Haddox, Morgan Hitt, Natalie Hogan, Taylor Hogan,

SR NO. 5 ENROLLED

Katie Hopkins, Carley Jones, Kendall Lopez, Mary Margaret Manning, Harper Neal, Larkin Nelson, Lauren Pate, Savannah Payne, Janese Penegar, Beth Ramirez, Mallorie Stafford, Morgan Stanley, Lauren Taylor, Rebecca Wheelis, Lexi White, Paige Williams, and Carrie Wilson; and

WHEREAS, the Ruston High School Cheerleader Head Coach, Heather Reeder, along with assistant coaches, Olivia Gordon, Abby Gordon, and Shelby Griffith are to be congratulated and recognized for their outstanding leadership that contributes to the continued success of this exceptional high school cheerleader program.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Ruston High School Cheerleaders and their coaches upon receipt of the 2012 National Cheerleader Association Game Time Division Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution be transmitted to Heather Reeder, head cheerleader coach, and Mike Milstead, principal of Ruston High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE