HOUSE No. 2681

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

PRESENTED BY:

Susannah M. Whipps

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying bill:

An Act relative to PILOT compensation to towns with high percentage of state owned land.

PETITION OF:

NAME:	DISTRICT/ADDRESS:
Susannah M. Whipps	2nd Franklin
Joseph D. McKenna	18th Worcester
Shawn Dooley	9th Norfolk
Elizabeth A. Poirier	14th Bristol
Angelo L. D'Emilia	8th Plymouth
Ryan C. Fattman	Worcester and Norfolk
Chris Walsh	6th Middlesex

HOUSE No. 2681

By Mrs. Whipps of Athol, a petition (accompanied by bill, House, No. 2681) of Susannah M. Whipps and others for an investigation and study by a special commission (including members of the General Court) relative to payment in lieu of taxes to cities and towns with state owned land. State Administration and Regulatory Oversight.

The Commonwealth of Alassachusetts

In the One Hundred and Ninetieth General Court (2017-2018)

An Act relative to PILOT compensation to towns with high percentage of state owned land.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

1 SECTION 1. Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, there is hereby 2 established a special commission to study the feasibility of creating a Payment In Lieu of Taxes 3 (PILOT) program to compensate cities and towns with significant amounts of non-taxable 4 property owned by the Commonwealth. The commission shall consist of the commissioner of the 5 division of capital and asset management, or a designee; 3 members of the house of 6 representatives, 2 of whom shall be appointed by the speaker of the house, and 1 of whom shall 7 be appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives; 3 members of the senate, 2 8 of whom shall be appointed by the senate president, and 1 of whom shall be appointed by the 9 senate minority leader; 2 members who shall be appointed by the governor; and 2 residents 10 from communities with large parcels of state owned land, 1 of whom shall be appointed by the 11 speaker of the house, and 1 of whom shall be appointed by the senate president.