HOUSE . No. 3542

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

PRESENTED BY:

Elizabeth A. Malia

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the passage of the accompanying bill:

An Act regarding the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority Board of Directors.

PETITION OF:

NAME:	DISTRICT/ADDRESS:
Elizabeth A. Malia	11th Suffolk
Brian P. Wallace	4th Suffolk
Kay Khan	11th Middlesex
Steven M. Walsh	11th Essex
Denise Provost	27th Middlesex
Martha M. Walz	8th Suffolk
Richard R. Tisei	Middlesex and Essex
Cory Atkins	14th Middlesex
Carl M. Sciortino, Jr.	34th Middlesex
Richard J. Ross	9th Norfolk
William N. Brownsberger	24th Middlesex
Gloria L. Fox	7th Suffolk
Sean Garballey	23rd Middlesex
Louis L. Kafka	8th Norfolk

The Commonwealth of Alassachusetts

In	the	Year	Two	Thousand	and	Nine

AN ACT REGARDING THE MASSACHUSETTS BAY TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 161A of the General Laws is hereby amended by striking out section 7, as 1 2 appearing in the 2006 Official Edition, and inserting in place thereof the following section: 3 Section 7. The authority shall be managed by a board of nine directors, one of whom shall be the 4 secretary who shall serve as chairman of the board and shall not be compensated therefor, and eight of 5 whom shall be appointed by the governor to two year terms beginning July 1 and who shall be eligible for 6 reappointment to no more than three consecutive terms. The directors appointed by the governor shall 7 consist of one selected from a list provided by the mayor of Boston, one selected from a list provided by 8 the chief executive officers, as defined in section 7 of chapter 4, of the 14 cities and towns excluding 9 Boston, one selected from a list provided by the metropolitan area planning council on behalf of the 51 10 cities and towns and other served communities, and one selected from a list provided by the authority 11 riders oversight committee. One of the appointees of the governor shall be experienced in transportation, 12 one shall be a member of a local, national, or international labor organization, one shall be experienced in 13 environmental protection, one shall be experienced in administration and finance, and one shall be 14 experienced in consumer protection. No more than five of the nine directors shall be members of the same 15 political party. Each director shall be a resident of the area constituting the authority and shall use 16 authority transit services regularly. At least three of the directors shall be transit-dependent, defined as not 17 owning or having access within their household to an automobile. Any director, except the chairman, may 18 be removed for cause by the governor. In event of a vacancy, a successor shall be named in the same 19 manner as the vacated director and such successor shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term. 20 The provisions of section 3 of chapter 12 shall not apply to said board of directors. The eight directors 21 appointed by the governor shall receive a salary of \$7,500. A majority of the directors shall constitute a

quorum, but a majority vote of the entire membership of the board of directors shall be required to take any particular action. The directors shall meet monthly, provided that said meeting shall occur no later than the fifteenth day of the month. Each meeting shall provide a sufficient opportunity for public comment at the beginning and end of each meeting. The agendas for each meeting shall be posted online at least 24 hours before the meeting and written materials provided to directors for the meeting shall be available at the meeting for the public. Meetings shall alternate from month to month between daytime and evening meeting times.