HJR 70 -- CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS

SPONSOR: Davidson

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Elections and Elected Officials by a vote of 7 to 3.

Upon voter approval, this proposed Constitutional amendment requires Constitutional amendments submitted by initiative petition to be approved by a majority of registered voters. Registered voters are defined in terms of persons allowed to vote at the most recent general, municipal, or primary election proceeding the amendment vote.

This bill is the same as HJR 25 (2021).

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that the resolution will ensure that a good public consensus is achieved when changing fundamental law. Currently, low voter turnout in certain elections would allow changes to the state constitution to be made by very small percentages of registered voters.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Davidson; Matt Morrow, Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce; and Opportunity Solutions Project.

OPPONENTS: Those who oppose the bill say that the use of registered voters will require a very high standard for passage that very few measures would ever be able to meet. The initiative process is very difficult and very few petitions are ever certified to have the required signatures for placement on the ballot.

Testifying against the bill were Allison Kellerman; Kathleen Dolson; Susan Gibson; Allyson Adame; Amy Kuo Hammerman, National Council of Jewish Women St. Louis; Beth Newman; Dana Sandweiss; Dava-Leigh Brush; Denise Lieberman, Missouri Voter Protection Coalition; Don Crozier; Elizabeth Franklin; Francine Glass; Getta R. Hall; Gregory J Woodhams; Isaac Clark; Jacquelyn Fiber; James Robinson; Joan Gentry; Kane Sheek, Sierra Club; Katherine R. Miller; Linda Rezny; Lisa Hummel; Lisa Kuehne; Loretta Fuge; Advocates of Planned Parenthood of The St. Louis Region and Southwest Mo; Pro Choice Missouri; Marcia Weimer; Nancy Desloge; Nancy Saccone; Nicole Cooper; Sherry L. Buchanan; Stephen W. Skrainka; Susan Shender; Arnie C. Dienoff; Cheryl Adelstein, Jewish Community Relations Council; Jim Kasten; Marla Marantz; Mary Gross; Mary Nemecek, Burroughs Audubon Society of Greater Kansas City; Mindy Sue Mcintosh; Nancy Copenhaver, League of Women Voters of Missouri; Missouri NEA; Yvonne D Reeves-Chong; Kevin Fitzgerald; Jobs With Justice Voter Action; Missouri Realtors; MO NAACP; and

Brigitte Sheridan.

Written testimony has been submitted for this bill. The full written testimony can be found under Testimony on the bill page on the House website.