HJR 94 -- VOTER IDENTIFICATION

SPONSOR: Simmons

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Elections and Elected Officials by a vote of 8 to 4.

Upon voter approval, this proposed Constitutional amendment requires voters to provide a valid government-issued photo identification. An exception may be provided to allow a person to vote by provisional ballot.

This bill is the same as HJR 62 (2021).

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that the resolution confirms that photographic identification is authorized which is the view adopted by both voters and residents who are polled. The Missouri Secretary of State assists all individuals who have sought identification in order to vote. The resolution also authorizes exceptions to photographic identification involving provisional ballots.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Simmons; Alanna Ahern; Amanda Hickenbottom-Conner; Amber Horton; Amy Reed; Andrew Kruse; Andrew Michael Johnson; Angela Good; Ann Young; Ashley Twellman; Becky Woods; Bev Ehlen; Brian Binkley; Brian D Barbagallo; Brittney Manier; Caleb Rust; Carol; Carol Littmann; Carol Orphan; Caroline Ruth Mueller; Carrie Farrow; Carrie Farrow; Cathy Boero; Charles B Defarkas; Christine Lewis; Christy D Shelton; Colette Kingston; Cori Phelps; Cynthia L. Jones; Cynthia Mueller Rice; Danielle Vancil; Daryn Ross; David Norris; Dawn Cox; Debra Nugent; Diane Unger, RN; Don Grimm; Elizabeth Anne Petersen; Erin; Gary Brown; Heather Kruse; Heather Leone-Wilson; Heather R. Herbold; Hugh Mackenzie; Jaime Cheaney; James L. Pelis; James Martin Miller; James Selesnick; Jamie McLain; Janet Hennessey; Jeff Schieber; Jennifer Boren; Jennifer Hull; Jennifer Nolen; Jennifer Spencer; Jessica Forst; Jessica Grimm; Jim Conrady; Jimmie J. Rice; Johanna Beaudean; Joshua Lehman; Judith Moorefield; Judy Sofka, Missouri Precinct Project/MOPP; Julia Jansma; Julie Duncan; Karen L Briggs; Karen Levy; Karen Melendy; Karin Washington; Kate Stratton; Kathleen Lee; Kathryn Hammen; Kathryn S Schoeck; Katie Levy; Katie Lyczak; Kelly Hooker; Kenneth Agne; Kim Penrod; Kristine Warner; Laura Feldmann; Laura Smith-Defarkas; Laurie Nicewaner; Linda; Linda Waddell; Lisa Williford; Lora Young; Lori; Lori Bourgeois; Marq Deibel; Marjorie Stoeker; Mark Voetter; Marla Fastenau; Marsha King; Matthew Bourgeois; Megan Mackenzie; Melissa James; Michael Hartman; Michael Hilbert; Michelle Brandt; Michelle Flieg; Michelle Selesnick; Miranda Tasker; Mona Johnston; Nadine Varga; Nancy Griffith; Nathan Billings; Nick Snyder; Pamela Heyen; Pamela

Wirick; Patricia A Hilbert; Patricia White; Patricia White; Patricia Wischmann; Patrick Miller; Paula A. Harvey; Paula Juelich; Rachel Bourgeois; Rebecca Porter; Rebekah Roberts; Rob Arnone; Robbyn Kempf; Robert Bourgeois Jr; Ron Joecks; Sara Guthrie; Sarah Reeves; Sharon Jackson; Shauna Poggio; Shawn Kaiser; Sheila A Keating; Shelly Graves; Sophia Bourgeois; Susan Bosse; Susan Stonecipher; Susanne Boehm; Tara Garcia; Teresa Simpson; Thomas Rice; Tom Latham; Tom Waddell; Tracy Dougan; Tricia Lavin; Troy Mayfield; Valerie Swearingen; Vicki Dunn; Wendy A. Wisniewski; Wendy C Melrose; Wilma Rademaker; Opportunity Solutions Project; and Trish Vincent, Secretary Of State.

OPPONENTS: Those who oppose the bill say that it poses the same issues as all other legislation that makes it more difficult to vote. The resolution is an indication that current state Constitutional law protects the right to vote under strict scrutiny as a fundamental right.

Testifying against the bill were Abigail Pankau; Alberta Mobley; Connie Flachs; Deborah J Kitchen; Dennis and Barbara Gaylor; Francine Glass; Getta R. Hall; Joan Gentry; Rabbi Scott Shafrin; Susan Gibson; Susan Lammert; Valerie Larm; Arlene Zarembka, Momentum: Missouri Moving Forward; Arnie C. Ac Dienoff; Charles Phillips; Jewish Community Relations Council; Deborah Bergfeld; Debra Coe; Don Crozier; Giselle Brown; Kathleen McGinnis; Leona Bochantin; Linda Brunner; Linda Rezny; Mary Patricia Patterson; Melissa Vatterott, Missouri Coalition for the Environment; Mikkaila Poulin; Missouri NEA; Randee Steffen; Ronya McCool; Sherry L Buchanan; Tori Schafer, American Civil Liberties Union of Missouri; Denise Lieberman, Missouri Voter Protection Coalition; Missouri AFL-CIO; Brigitte Sheridan; Julianna Sellers; Marissa Polzin; Nancy Quigley; AARP; Mo State Conference NAACP; and PROMO.

Written testimony has been submitted for this bill. The full written testimony can be found under Testimony on the bill page on the House website.