SECOND REGULAR SESSION HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR

HOUSE BILL NO. 2151

100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

4628H.02C

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 174.453, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof two new sections relating to statewide missions of institutions of higher education.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 174.453, RSMo, is repealed and two new sections enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as sections 174.281 and 174.453, to read as follows:

174.281. Southeast Missouri State University is hereby designated and shall 2 hereafter be operated as an institution with a statewide mission in the visual and 3 performing arts, computer science, and cybersecurity.

174.453. 1. Except as provided in section 174.450 and in subsection 6 of this section,2 the board of governors shall be appointed as follows:

3 (1) Five voting members shall be selected from the counties comprising the institution's 4 historic statutory service region as described in section 174.010, except that no more than two 5 members shall be appointed from any one county with a population of less than two hundred 6 thousand inhabitants;

7 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the state which are 8 outside of the institution's historic service region; and

9 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same manner as 10 prescribed in section 174.055.

- 11 2. The term of service of the governors shall be as follows:
- 12 (1) The voting members shall be appointed for terms of six years; and
- 13 (2) The nonvoting student member shall serve a two-year term.

14 3. Members of any board of governors selected pursuant to this section and in office on

15 May 13, 1999, shall serve the remainder of their unexpired terms.

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

HCS HB 2151

16 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section, the board of governors 17 of Missouri Southern State University shall be appointed as follows:

18 (1) Six voting members shall be selected from any of the following counties: Barton, 19 Jasper, Newton, McDonald, Dade, Lawrence, and Barry provided that no more than three of 20 these six members shall be appointed from any one county;

21

(2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the state which are 22 outside of the counties articulated in subdivision (1) of this subsection;

23 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same manner as 24 prescribed in section 174.055; and

25 (4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection shall only apply to board 26 members first appointed after August 28, 2004.

27 5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section, the board of governors 28 of Missouri Western State University shall be appointed as follows:

29 (1)Five voting members shall be selected from any of the following counties: 30 Buchanan, Platte, Clinton, Andrew, and DeKalb provided that no more than three of these five 31 members shall be appointed from any one county;

32 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the state which are 33 outside of the counties articulated in subdivision (1) of this subsection;

34 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same manner as 35 prescribed in section 174.055; and

36 (4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection shall only apply to board 37 members first appointed after August 28, 2005.

38 6. (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section to the contrary, 39 the board of governors of Southeast Missouri State University shall be appointed as 40 follows:

41 (a) One voting member shall be selected from one of the following counties: Butler, 42 Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Scott, and Stoddard;

43 (b) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the following counties: Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Madison, Perry, Ste. Genevieve, and St. Francois; 44

45

46 areas: Franklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, St. Charles, St. Louis, St. Louis City, and Warren;

47

(d) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the state; and

(c) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the following counties or

48 (e) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same manner 49 as provided in section 174.055.

50 (2) The provisions of paragraphs (a) through (c) of this subdivision shall only apply 51 to board members first appointed after August 28, 2020.

1