## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2025

H HOUSE BILL 26

Short Title:	Town of Madison/Satellite Annexation. (Local)
Sponsors:	Representative Pyrtle.  For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.
Referred to:	State and Local Government, if favorable, Finance, if favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House

## February 3, 2025

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF MADISON.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

..

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8 9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19 20

21

22

23

2425

26 27

28

29

30

31

32 33 (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Archdale, Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Goldston, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Laurel Park, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, Madison, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, North Wilkesboro, Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rockwell, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingate, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

