Sixty-sixth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001**

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- 3 Dr. Warren George Allen, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died
- 4 October 12, 2017;
- 5 Myron H. Atkinson, Jr., who served in the 41<sup>st</sup> through the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 6 District 32, died June 12, 2017;
- 7 Arthur Glenn Bilden, who served in the 38<sup>th</sup> and 39<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 5,
- 8 and in the 40<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 19, died October 28, 2018;
- 9 Audrey Marie Boucher Cleary, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup>, 53<sup>rd</sup>, 56<sup>th</sup>, and 57<sup>th</sup> Legislative
- 10 Assemblies, from District 49, died February 5, 2019;
- Jerroll Penryhn Ruedell Erickson, who served in the 33<sup>rd</sup> and 34<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 12 from District 28, died October 1, 2017;
- 13 Stephen Hugh Farrington, who served in the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 14,
- 14 died July 14, 2017;
- James F. "Jim" Gerl, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup>, the 45<sup>th</sup> through the 48<sup>th</sup>, and the
- 16 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died March 3, 2018;
- William E. "Bill" Gorder, who served in the 46<sup>th</sup> through the 48<sup>th</sup> and the 52<sup>nd</sup> through
- 18 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 16, died August 3, 2017;
- Oben John Iver Gunderson, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> through the 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 20 from District 19, died September 5, 2018;
- Treadwell Leslie "Tready" Haugen, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative
- 22 Assemblies, from District 37, died September 25, 2018;
- Jean Elizabeth Herman, who served in the 45<sup>th</sup> and 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 24 District 44, died June 1, 2018;

- 1 Henning Jacobson, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 12, died
- 2 May 18, 2018;
- RaeAnn Gummer Kelsch, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> through the 62<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 4 from District 34, died October 30, 2018;
- 5 David J. Koland, who served in the 47<sup>th</sup>, 49<sup>th</sup>, and 50<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 6 District 5, died May 8, 2018;
- William E. Kretschmar, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 8 District 30, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 55<sup>th</sup> and the 57<sup>th</sup> through the 64<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 9 from District 28, died August 17, 2017;
- Byron John Langley, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> through the 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 11 District 12, died January 13, 2018;
- George "Dale" Linderman, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 13 District 32, in the 41st and 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 13, and in the
- 14 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 14, died October 16, 2018;
- Dr. Edward H. Lloyd, Jr. who served in the 54<sup>th</sup> through the 57<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 16 District 19, died March 17, 2019;
- Herbert L. Meschke, who served in the 39<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 29, died
- 18 May 19, 2017;
- Honoratius Mathew "Ray" Metzger, who served in the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from
- 20 District 21, and in the 45<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 13, died September 9, 2018;
- Alice Mae Miller, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 7, died April 1,
- 22 2017;
- Dorothy Mae Moum, who served in the 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 22, died
- 24 June 30, 2017;
- Robert J. O'Shea, who served in the 45<sup>th</sup> and the 48<sup>th</sup> through 51<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 26 from District 8, died December 23, 2017;
- 27 George Albert "Bud" Sinner, who served in the 48th Legislative Assembly, from District 22,
- 28 died March 9, 2018;
- 29 Robert Wayne "Bob" Stefonowicz, who served in the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from
- 30 District 2, died October 7, 2017;

15

16

1 Earl Loyal Stoltenow, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from 2 District 25, died October 23, 2017; 3 E. Michael Timm, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> through the 49<sup>th</sup> and the 51<sup>st</sup> through the 4 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, died August 17, 2018; and 5 WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives 6 colleagues and to honor their memories; and 7 WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by 8 their contributions to public service: 9 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF 10 **NORTH DAKOTA:** 11 That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people 12 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and 13 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of 14 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of

Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the

surviving families of these deceased Representatives.