ASSEMBLY AGRICULTURE AND FOOD SECURITY COMMITTEE

STATEMENT TO

[First Reprint] ASSEMBLY, No. 5098

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DATED: FEBRUARY 16, 2023

The Assembly Agriculture and Food Security Committee reports favorably Assembly Bill No. 5098 (1R).

This bill would establish new tourism regions in the northern, central, and southern parts of the State, and would authorize the establishment of additional tourism subregions. Under the bill's provisions, the northern tourism region will comprise Sussex, Warren, Morris, Passaic, Bergen, Essex, and Hudson counties; the central tourism region will comprise Hunterdon, Somerset, Union, Middlesex, Mercer, Monmouth, and Ocean counties; and the southern tourism region will comprise Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Atlantic, Salem, Cumberland, and Cape May counties.

The Division of Travel and Tourism would be authorized, but not required, to establish up to three subregions within the northern, central, and southern tourism regions being established under the bill, in consultation with the destination marketing organizations that operate within each tourism region. The division would be required to encourage the development of at least one destination marketing organization to operate solely within each subregion, and would further be required to encourage all destination marketing organizations to operate collaboratively for the promotion of tourism within the entire tourism region.