Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 11

By:

Treat, Allen, Bergstrom, Bice, Boggs, Boren, Brooks, Bullard, Coleman, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett, Dugger, Floyd, Hall, Haste, Hicks, Howard, Ikley-Freeman, Jech, Kidd, Kirt, Leewright, Matthews, McCortney, Montgomery, Murdock, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Pugh, Quinn, Rader, Rosino, Scott, Sharp, Shaw, Silk, Simpson, Standridge, Stanislawski, Stanley, Thompson, Weaver and Young of the Senate

and

McCall, Albright, Baker, Bell, Bennett, Blancett, Boatman, Boles, Branham, Brewer, Burns, Bush, Caldwell (Chad), Caldwell (Trey), Conley, Cornwell, Crosswhite Hader, Davis, Dills, Dollens, Dunnington, Echols, Fetgatter, Fincher, Ford, Frix, Fugate, Gann, Goodwin, Grego, Hardin (David), Hardin (Tommy), Hasenbeck, Hilbert, Hill, Humphrey, Johns, Kannady, Kerbs, Kiger, Lawson, Lepak, Loring, Lowe, Luttrell, Manger, Marti, Martinez, May, McBride, McDugle, McEntire, Meredith, Miller, Mize,

Moore, Munson, Newton, Nichols, Nollan, O'Donnell, Olsen, Ortega, Osburn, Pae, Patzkowsky, Perryman, Pfeiffer, Phillips, Pittman, Provenzano, Randleman, Ranson, Roberts (Dustin), Roberts (Sean), Roe, Rosecrants, Russ, Sanders, Sims, Smith, Sneed, Stark, Steagall, Sterling, Strom, Tadlock, Talley, Taylor, Townley, Vancuren, Virgin, Waldron, Walke, Wallace, West (Josh), West (Kevin), West (Tammy), Worthen and Wright of the House

A Resolution memorializing the 25th anniversary of the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building; recognizing the role of state employees in that event; remembering those state workers who were injured and mourning those killed in the attack; urging all Oklahomans to be Looking Back and Thinking Forward as they commemorate the incident; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, on April 19, 1995, at 9:02 a.m., Oklahoma City became the site of the worst act of home-grown terrorism on American soil when the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building was bombed, killing 168 people, including 19 children, and injuring hundreds more; and

WHEREAS, 230 state employees from 13 different state agencies were in the vicinity of the bomb. Of these, eight state agencies

and 222 employees were housed inside the Oklahoma Water Resources Board and Journal Record buildings. State agencies housed in the Journal Record building were Basic Health Benefits Board, Oklahoma Historical Society - State Preservation Office, Criminal Justice Resource Center, Truth in Sentencing Policy Advisory Commission, Oklahoma Guaranteed Student Loans, Oklahoma Tuition Aid Grant, Oklahoma Small Business Development Center, Risk Management Division - Department of Central Services, and the Oklahoma Department of Securities; and

WHEREAS, three of those killed in the bombing were state employees including Oklahoma Water Resources Board employees Robert N. Chipman and Trudy Jean Rigney, and University Hospital employee Laura Garrison, who was in the Social Security Office that morning. More than a hundred state employees were injured including employees working in the agencies previously mentioned, plus employees from the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission, the Department of Labor, the Oklahoma Department of Transportation and the Department of Rehabilitation Services; and

WHEREAS, numerous state employees assisted as first responders immediately after the blast and continued to assist in securing the site and assisting with the search and rescue operation, the investigation and prosecution of the case and the state's overall recovery. Agencies included in these immediate and long term response efforts included the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, University Hospitals, Department of Emergency Management, the Medical Examiner's office, the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, the Military Department, the Oklahoma National Guard, OETA, the District Attorneys Council, the Attorney General's office, the Indigent Defense System, the Department of Human Services, the Department of Health, the Department of Education, the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission, the Insurance Department, the Department of Corrections, the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, the Legislature, the Oklahoma Court System and virtually all other state agencies; and

WHEREAS, strong leadership during Oklahoma's darkest hour was provided by Governor Frank and Mrs. Keating, Lt. Governor Mary Fallin, and all of our state's elected officials; and

WHEREAS, the year 2020 marks the 25th anniversary of this dark event in our state's history; and

WHEREAS, this landmark anniversary year has raised the Murrah Bombing back to the consciousness of all Americans; and

WHEREAS, the Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum has declared the year 2020 to be a year of THINKING BACK and LOOKING FORWARD.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 57TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate memorializes the 25th anniversary of the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate extends its gratitude to the many state employees who worked tirelessly after the bombing to rescue and aid survivors, recover those who did not survive and assisted in seeking justice for the victims.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate recognizes and remembers those state employees who were injured and killed in the Oklahoma City Bombing, and on this 25th anniversary offers prayers for those still mourning the loss of friends and loved ones, and for the continued healing of those injured.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate urges all Oklahomans to honor those killed, those who survived and those changed forever by LOOKING BACK and THINKING FORWARD to assure such an act of terrorism never happens again.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to the Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum.

	Adopted by	the Senate th	ne 13th da	y of Ma	y, 2020.	
			<u> </u>	residin	g Officer of	the Senate
2020		the House of	Represent	atives	the 13th day	y of May,
			.	Presidi	-	of the House resentatives
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE						
	Received by	the Office of	of the Sec	retary	of State thi	Ls
day	of		20	, at	o'cloc	ck M
Ву:						