1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	1st Session of the 56th Legislature (2017)
3	SENATE RESOLUTION 14 By: Rader
4	
5	
6	<u>AS INTRODUCED</u>
7	A Resolution congratulating the University of Tulsa Golden Hurricane football team for winning the 2016
8	Miami Beach Bowl; commending their outstanding 2016 season; and directing distribution.
9	
10	
11	WHEREAS, the University of Tulsa Golden Hurricane football team
12	finished their impressive 2016 season by beating Central Michigan to
13	win the Miami Beach Bowl; and
14	WHEREAS, it was the team's 21st bowl game appearance and their
15	tenth bowl victory; and
16	WHEREAS, the Golden Hurricane's 10-3 season was the team's tenth
17	10-win season in school history, and the first since 2012; and
18	WHEREAS, for the first time in the 147 years of college and NCAA
19	D1/FBS football, history was established by the Hurricane when Josh
20	Atkinson went over 1,000 yards receiving for the season in the bowl
21	game, making Tulsa the first team to have a 3,000-yard passer (Dane
22	Evans), two 1,000-yard rushers (D'Angelo Brewer and James Flanders)
23	and two 1,000-yard receivers (Josh Atkinson and Keevan Lucas); and
24	

Req. No. 1716

WHEREAS, the Hurricane scored 40 points or more ten times in 1 2016, and had four games scoring over 50 points; and 2 WHEREAS, Tulsa accumulated over 500 yards of total offense five 3 times this season; and 4 WHEREAS, the team rushed for over 300 yards eight times in 2016 5 setting a school record which was also the second most in the NCAA; 6 and 7 WHEREAS, the Hurricane completed the season ranked among the 8 nation's offensive leaders - 4th for total offense, 7th for scoring, 9 8th for rushing offense and 30th for passing offense; and 10 WHEREAS, the running duo of James Flanders and D'Angelo Brewer 11 12 became only the second pair of backs in school history to rush for over 1,000 yards in the same season, and the 72nd pair of backs in 13 NCAA history to accomplish the feat; and 14 WHEREAS, Tulsa set 11 individual school records on offense, 15 including 9 career records, one single-season and one single-game 16 record; and 17 WHEREAS, Tulsa's 31-point comeback over Fresno State ties for 18 the second largest comeback in NCAA FBS/Division 1 history; and 19 WHEREAS, Dane Evans was honored as one of 24 players nationwide 20 named to the prestigious Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, one of the 21 most-coveted off-the-field honors in college football. 22 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION 23 OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE: 24

Req. No. 1716

Page 2

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate congratulates the University of
 Tulsa Golden Hurricane football team for winning the 2016 Miami
 Beach Bowl.

4 THAT the Oklahoma State Senate commends the Golden Hurricane for 5 their record-setting season.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to University of
Tulsa President, Gerard P. Clancy, M.D.; Athletic Director, Dr.
Derrick Gragg; Associate Athletic Director, Brian Scislo; Head
Football Coach Philip Montgomery; Director of Football Operations,
Kyle Grooms; Dane Evans, Josh Atkinson, Keevan Lucas, James Flanders
and D'Angelo Brewer.

4/6/2017 4:13:47 PM

JB

12

13 56-1-1716 14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

Page 3