2019 -- H 6161

LC002494

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2019

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING HENRY A. JOHNSON AND THE NEW ENGLAND INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SOCIETY FOR ADVANCEMENT OF MANAGEMENT TEAM FOR THEIR SUCCESS AT THE ANNUAL SAM INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Roberts, Chippendale, Lyle, and Kennedy

Date Introduced: May 29, 2019

Referred To: House read and passed

1 WHEREAS, The Society for Advancement of Management (SAM) was founded in 1912 2 as a nonprofit organization and is the oldest professional management organization in the world. 3 SAM is led and managed by hundreds of volunteers from numerous disciplines including productions, finance, marketing, accounting, research and development, and entrepreneurship 4 5 with the goal of helping people to become better managers by sharing management expertise and building connections among and between academicians, practitioners, and students; and 6 7 WHEREAS, Mr. Henry A. Johnson is a distinguished Assistant Professor of Business Management and Public Health at the New England Institute of Technology who has received 8 9 numerous awards in his exemplary career including being named an "Outstanding National 10 Faculty Advisor" for two years in a row, and receiving the "Phil Carroll Advancement of 11 Management Award" for his "contributions to management through application and innovation"; 12 and 13 WHEREAS, Professor Johnson is also the Advisor and Coach of the New England 14 Institute of Technology's (NEIT) Society for Advancement of Management (SAM) chapter. Each 15 year SAM conducts an international student competition consisting of multiple events including the Knowledge Bowl, Extemporaneous Speaking, and the Case Study Competition. The 16 17 competition has two separate divisions, Undergraduate and Open, with the Open Division 18 competitors usually consisting of graduate students; and 19 WHEREAS, The NEIT Team consisted of Amaryha Bryan, Brittany Coonan, Joseph

1	Foley and Isai Hernandez on the Open Team, and Emma Peterson, Luke Marcotte, Erika Sinesi,
2	and Sarrah Berkery on the Undergraduate Team. In the latest competition, the NEIT Open Team
3	won the overall award (Intercollegiate Business Skills Competition) for their Division. The
4	Undergraduate Team placed third in the same competition. In the Knowledge Bowl the Open
5	Team placed second, with the Undergraduate Team finishing in third place; and
6	WHEREAS, The NEIT Team also received numerous individual honors at the SAM
7	competition. Sarrah Berkery was recognized as a National Outstanding Student, the top award for
8	an undergraduate. In the Open Speech Competition, Joseph Foley finished in second place and
9	Amaryha Bryan placed third, with Luke Marcotte finishing second in the undergraduate division
10	in the same competition. Emma Patterson and Brittany Coonan won regional Outstanding Student
11	honors. Additionally, the New England Institute of Technology SAM chapter was recognized as
12	the 2nd best chapter in the nation; now, therefore be it
13	RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and
14	Providence Plantations hereby congratulates Professor Henry A. Johnson and the New England

Providence Plantations hereby congratulates Professor Henry A. Johnson and the New England Institute of Technology's Society for Advancement of Management Chapter Team for their success at the annual Sam International Conference Competition; and be it further

PESOLVED. That the Secretary of State he and hereby is authorized and directed to

RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to Assistant Professor Henry A. Johnson, New England Institute of Technology, Amaryha Bryan, Brittany Coonan, Joseph Foley, Isai Hernandez, Emma Peterson, Luke Marcotte, Erika Sinesi, and Sarrah Berkery.

LC002494

15

16

17

18

19

20