LC005923

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2018

SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE CHARIHO HIGH SCHOOL BOYS LACROSSE TEAM ON WINNING THE 2018 DIVISION III BOYS LACROSSE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Senator Elaine J. Morgan

Date Introduced: June 19, 2018

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

1 WHEREAS, The Chariho High School Boys Lacrosse team accomplished something in 2 2018 that rarely happens anymore, they repeated as Rhode Island Division III State Champions. 3 Additionally, they accomplished this task in dominating fashion as they ran the table and put 4 together a perfect record, finishing 17-0 on the season; and WHEREAS, After finishing in first place in the Division III South standings, the Chariho 5 Chargers were seeded 1st in the Rhode Island Division III Lacrosse Tournament. After 6 7 dispatching Smithfield in the Quarterfinals by the score of 7-0 and Rogers by a score of 10-5 in the Semifinals, Chariho had earned a berth in the State Championship game versus Division III 8 9 North Champions Ponagansett High School for the State Title at Brown University; and 10 WHEREAS, After falling behind early in the Championship game, the Chariho Chargers 11 took control of the game in the second quarter and showed why they have been the best Boys 12 Division III team in Rhode Island the past two years as they dominated the rest of the game to 13 win 7 to 4 and repeat as State Champions; an 14 WHEREAS, Winning a State Championship in a team sport is an incredible achievement, 15 one requiring that every member of the team give their all and put team needs and goals ahead of individual aspirations. The Chariho Chargers Boys Lacrosse Team had those qualities in 16 abundance as they were led all season by the important contributions provided by Senior Captains 17 18 Alexi Fauzey and Will Foley, as well as fellow seniors James Foley, Zach Grassi, Steve Knott,

Ryan Pater, Mike Rinfrette and Brine Wotherspoon, Juniors Tom Champagne, Joel Desroisers,

- 1 Ryane Hart, Paul Marshall, Joe Silvia, Nick Silvia, Chris Sutcliffe, Evan Vazquez, Mark
- 2 Decataldo, Kevin Yu, Evan Judkins, Ryan Robalewski, Noah Nicollela, Sophomores Nathan
- 3 Allamby, Brayden Birrell, Tom O'Horo, and Freshman Roger Wotherspoon, Josh Pater, Andrew
- 4 Giusti and Nick Corrente; The Chariho Chargers also benefited all season by having the
- 5 leadership and innovative coaching provided by Head Coach Ryan Meade and Assistant Coach
- 6 Matt Cauchon; now, therefore be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That this Senate of the state of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
- 8 hereby congratulates the Chariho High School Boys Lacrosse Team on winning the 2018
- 9 Division III Boys Lacrosse State Championship; and be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- 11 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Ryan Meade, Head Coach, Chariho Boys
- 12 Lacrosse Team.

LC005923

=======