State of South Dakota

NINETY-THIRD SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2018

598Z0296

HOUSE BILL NO. 1001

Introduced by: Representatives Mickelson, Gosch, Haugaard, Hawley, Qualm, Reed, and Stevens and Senators Greenfield (Brock), Bolin, Curd, Langer, Partridge, Stalzer, and Sutton at the request of the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council

- 1 FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to revise the membership of the Executive Board of the
- 2 Legislative Research Council.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 4 Section 1. That § 2-9-2 be amended to read:
- 5 2-9-2. The Legislative Research Council shall have an executive board, to be known as the
- 6 Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council, which shall consist of fifteen voting
- 7 members, as follows: four members from the Senate and five members from the House of
- 8 Representatives, to be elected by a majority vote by their respective legislative bodies in party
- 9 caucus before each regular session of the Legislature held in odd-numbered years, and ex officio
- the president pro tempore, majority leader, and minority leader of the Senate and the speaker,
- majority leader, and minority leader of the House of Representatives elected in such regular
- 12 session. In addition, the speaker pro tempore of the House shall serve ex officio as a nonvoting
- board member, if the speaker pro tempore of the House is not already a voting board member
- by right of caucus election or vacancy succession. The number of senate and house members

- 2 - HB 1001

- 1 on the executive board shall remain constant, and any vacancy occurring shall be filled by the
- 2 respective legislative bodies in party caucus. If a vacancy occurs in the ex officio position on
- 3 the board for the president pro tempore, the vacancy on the board shall be filled by the majority
- 4 party caucus until the Senate elects a new president pro tempore. If a vacancy occurs in the ex
- 5 officio position on the board for the speaker, the vacancy on the board shall be filled by the
- 6 speaker pro tempore until the House of Representatives elects a new speaker. No board member,
- 7 excepting ex officio, may serve more than three successive terms.