State of South Dakota

NINETY-SECOND SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2017

659Y0417

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3

- Introduced by: Senators Bolin, Ewing, Jensen (Phil), Klumb, Kolbeck, Monroe, Nelson, Nesiba, Solano, Stalzer, and Wiik and Representatives Holmes, Brunner, Campbell, Dennert, Glanzer, Greenfield (Lana), Haugaard, Heinemann, Jamison, Jensen (Kevin), Johns, Kaiser, Lust, Marty, McPherson, Mills, Otten (Herman), Peterson (Sue), Pischke, Rasmussen, Reed, Ring, Rounds, Schaefer, Smith, Soli, Steinhauer, Willadsen, and York
- 1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Recognizing the outstanding public service of President
- 2 James Monroe.
- 3 WHEREAS, James Monroe was born on April 28, 1758, in Westmoreland, Virginia; and
- 4 WHEREAS, as a young man James Monroe left the College of William & Mary to fight for
- 5 the patriot cause in the army led by George Washington; and
- 6 WHEREAS, James Monroe was one of the soldiers who famously crossed the Delaware
- 7 River with Washington in December 1776; and
- 8 WHEREAS, James Monroe was severely wounded but survived, in the ensuing battle at
- 9 Trenton; and
- 10 WHEREAS, James Monroe, during his life, served his country as state legislator, governor
- 11 of Virginia, United States Senator, United States ambassador to France, Secretary of State,
- 12 Secretary of War, and as a two-term President of the United States; and
- 13 WHEREAS, during his presidency, James Monroe promoted the building of canals and



roads to further trade and commerce and ran unopposed for the presidency during his re-election
bid in1820; and

3 WHEREAS, in 1823, President Monroe issued the famous Monroe Doctrine, which reduced

4 European influence in the Western Hemisphere; and

5 WHEREAS, James Monroe left office in 1825 in financial difficulty, and died six years later

6 virtually penniless in the care of his daughter:

7 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Ninety-Second Legislature

8 of the State of South Dakota, the House of Representatives concurring therein, that the South

9 Dakota Legislature does hereby honor the life and legacy of President James Monroe, the sixth

10 President of the United States.