HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 43

By Keisling

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Macon County High School Tigers football team on winning the 2024 TSSAA Class 4A state championship.

WHEREAS, the young men of the Macon County High School football team recently etched their names into the glorious annals of Tennessee sports history by claiming the 2024 TSSAA Division I, Class 4A state football championship; and

WHEREAS, these Tigers from Lafayette vanquished all competition, ultimately defeating the Memphis Melrose Golden Wildcats in a resounding 45-14 victory, in the BlueCross Bowl at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga on December 7, 2024; and

WHEREAS, this feat marked the first-ever trip to the title game and the first TSSAA state championship trophy in the ninety-eight-year history of Macon County's football program; and

WHEREAS, as they marched toward the state championship, the Macon County Tigers posted an excellent 13-2 regular season record; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 Macon County squad included dedicated and talented players

Anthony Johnson, Cooper Carlisle, Isaac McClard, Baylon Hesson, Zach Borders, Kelby

Wheeler, Bradyn Hasse, Gabe Borders, Kelan Hire, Kilian Jetton, Ty Young, Michael Bentley,

Andrew Comer, Corey Underwood, Bradley Crawford, Matthew Wheeley, Hunter Jones, Taylen

Swaffer, Luke Gammon, Braylon Flowers, Brennan Flowers, Jayden Cook, Michael Pelico,

Braxton Boles, Tanner Gilmore, Tre McClain, Dakota Ridgeway, Hadyn Hasse, Trey Gann,

Roberto Perez, Logan Tirjan, Mathew Brawner, Koen Kindle, Lamoney Mosley, Cooper East,

Kade McKinney, Eli Gammon, Kellan Craft, Corbin Stephens, Dakota Hackert, Nicholas

Goodrich, Owen Pitts, Dawson Whittemore, Brody Frye, Ethan Parker, Levi Edgmon, Jaxon

Frye, Bo Warner, Hunter Griggs, Cooper Dunn, Emmerson Hubbard, Gavin Johnson, Ethan

West, Bryson Wauford, Javier Rodriquez, Courtland Shrum, Zvi Rotstein, Colton Clark, James Clark, Aedan Hopson, Brock Buckalew, Wyatt Walrond, Ruben Valdez, Dayton Demmink-Harwood, Christian Sanchez, Dylan Stone, Jeremiah Vaughn Gilpin, Tyler Mossbarger, Gael Amaral Sanchez, Dillon Crutchfield, and Camren Miller; and

WHEREAS, in the state championship game, the Tigers were led by Zach Borders, who was named MVP for rushing twenty-five times for a staggering 250 yards and scoring four touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers were fortunate to have the expertise and leadership of Head
Coach Kyle Shoulders and his assistant coaches, Isaac Belton, Lionel Borders, Sean Corbitt,
Chris Escamilla, Ethan Jenkins, Ty Lowhorn, Brandon Nix, Brandon Robertson, Drew Scott, Eli
Stephenson, Chase Whittemore, and Spenser Young; and

WHEREAS, the team was spurred on by the support of nearly 3,000 fans who made the three-hour trek to Finley Stadium to witness Macon County football history; and

WHEREAS, the Macon County High School players truly distinguished themselves as gridiron greats during this championship season, and they are richly deserving of our approbation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED FOURTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the Macon County High School Tigers football team on winning the 2024 TSSAA Class 4A state championship and extend to these gifted athletes our best wishes for much continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 2 - 001578