111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

S. RES. 110

Congratulating the University of North Carolina Tar Heels basketball team for winning the 2008–2009 NCAA men's basketball national championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

APRIL 22, 2009

Mr. Burr (for himself and Mrs. Hagan) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of North Carolina Tar Heels basketball team for winning the 2008–2009 NCAA men's basketball national championship.
- Whereas on April 6, 2009, the University of North Carolina defeated Michigan State University 89–72 to win the 2008–2009 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) men's basketball national championship;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina was the consensus preseason number 1 basketball team in the Nation;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina Tar Heels were saddled with a tremendous amount of pressure to get to the NCAA Final Four and win the national champion-ship in 2009;

- Whereas after the Tar Heels' 0–2 record to start the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) regular season, the team finished with a record of 13–3 and won 13 out of their last 14 games in conference;
- Whereas the Tar Heels were the 2008–2009 ACC regular season conference champions;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough became the ACC's all-time leading scorer;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough and Ty Lawson were selected to the 2008– 2009 All-Atlantic Coast Conference (All-ACC) first team;
- Whereas Tyler Hansbrough became the first player in league history to be unanimously selected 4 times to the All-ACC first team;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina's Danny Green was selected to the 2008–2009 All-ACC third team and the All-ACC defensive team;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina's Ed Davis was selected to the All-ACC rookie team;
- Whereas entering into the 2008–2009 NCAA College Basketball Championship, President Barack Obama picked the Tar Heels to win the championship title;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina beat each of Radford University, Louisiana State University, Gonzaga University, and the University of Oklahoma by 12 points or more to win the South Division and reach the Final Four for the second straight year;
- Whereas Ty Lawson was named the South Division most valuable player;

- Whereas with their victory over the University of Oklahoma, the Tar Heels became the first team in NCAA Tournament history to reach 100 tournament wins;
- Whereas several media outlets, including ESPN and CBS, reported that more than 60,000 fans in attendance at the final tournament game would be cheering for Michigan State University;
- Whereas the 55 points the University of North Carolina scored in the first half of the championship game broke the all-time first half scoring record for any team in the history of the NCAA tournament;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina's Wayne Ellington and Deon Thompson played exceptionally well in the first half of the championship game to push the lead to 21 points;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina withstood Michigan State University's late surge and pushed the lead back to 19 points with less than 3 minutes remaining in the game;
- Whereas the University of North Carolina's Wayne Ellington was named the Final Four most valuable player;
- Whereas Ty Lawson's 8 steals set the record for the most steals in a NCAA championship game;
- Whereas the 2008–2009 championship was the University of North Carolina's fifth national championship in school history;
- Whereas the 2008–2009 championship was Coach Roy Williams' second national championship since taking over as head coach of the University of North Carolina men's basketball team; and

Whereas with the victory over Michigan State University, the University of North Carolina tied the University of Kentucky for the all-time winningest program in NCAA Division 1 men's basketball history: Now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved, That the Senate—
2	(1) congratulates the University of North Caro-
3	lina for winning the 2008–2009 National Collegiate
4	Athletic Association men's basketball national cham-
5	pionship;
6	(2) recognizes the achievement of the players,
7	coaches, students, and staff of the University of
8	North Carolina whose perseverance and dedication
9	to excellence helped propel the men's basketball
10	team to win the championship; and
11	(3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the
12	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
13	tion to—
14	(A) the chancellor of the University of
15	North Carolina, H. Holden Thorp;
16	(B) the athletic director of the University
17	of North Carolina, Dick Baddour; and
18	(C) the head coach of the University of
19	North Carolina men's basketball team, Roy Wil-
20	liams.