No. R-264. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Milton High School Yellowjackets Division II championship girls' soccer team.

(H.C.R.215)

Offered by: Representatives Turner of Milton and Mattos of Milton

<u>Whereas</u>, prior to 2017, the Milton High School girls' soccer team had secured six divisional titles in less than a decade, including in both 2015 and 2016, and

<u>Whereas</u>, this past fall, the second-seeded Yellowjackets again demonstrated a special mastery of the sport, earning a berth in the Division II championship game against top-seeded Rice Memorial High School of South Burlington, and

Whereas, Milton entered the contest recognizing its opponent enjoyed a home field advantage, and

<u>Whereas</u>, these top-level squads ended regulation play tied at 3–all, and the Yellowjackets persevered through two overtime periods and then two penalty kick rounds, before emerging as the 6–3 victors and proud winners of a third consecutive Division II championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Yellowjackets Molly Loucy, Morgan Bushey, Kaleigh Goulette, Haley Raftery, Kate Rowley, Samantha Orest, Megan Reilly, Elizabeth Poirier, Lauren Dabagian, Marissa Brill, Katie Desranleau, Lauryn Holsopple, Jordan Bean, Jessica Wells, Katerina Desranleau, Sydney Shappy, Tatum Shappy, Brooke Caragher, Marcy Dockham, Olivia King, Emily Pallas, Madison North, Rachel Clark, and Madison Chalmers were thrilled to continue their team's distinguished tradition of soccer excellence, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Shawntel Burke, assistant coaches Rich Couture and Matt Lumsden, and team statistician Brenda Sweeney each contributed to the team's memorable 2017 season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Milton High School Yellowjackets Division II championship girls' soccer team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Milton High School.