No. R-393. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2010 Missisquoi Valley Union High School Thunderbirds Division II championship boys' ice hockey team.

(H.C.R.281)

Offered by: Representatives Savage of Swanton, Consejo of Sheldon and McAllister of Highgate

Offered by: Senators Brock and Kittell

Whereas, the No. 2-seeded Missisquoi Valley Union High School

Thunderbirds boys' ice hockey team, including a dozen seniors, faced the No.

1-seeded Stowe High School Raiders in the 2010 Division II (Lake Division)

boys' ice hockey championship game at the University of Vermont's Gutterson

Fieldhouse, and

Whereas, the first period ended in a scoreless tie, and

Whereas, 14 seconds into the second period, a Missisquoi player skated past a Raider to recover the puck that the Raider goalie had just shot back into play, and the Thunderbird immediately sent it into the net for the game's first goal, and

Whereas, two assisting Thunderbirds created the setup that enabled a third teammate to score the game's second goal at 10:54 of the second period, and

Whereas, at the net, the Thunderbird goalie boldly defended his territory, deflecting five Raider shots on goal in under a minute while Stowe had a power play advantage late in the second period, and

Whereas, not content with a 2–0 lead, the Thunderbirds scored their third goal at 3:47 of the final period when, in a play involving three Thunderbirds,

VT LEG 256596.1

No. R-393 Page 2

Missisquoi took the puck from the right point, then slid it along the blue line and ultimately into the near side of the net, and

Whereas, to cap the scoring, a Thunderbird succeeded in skating past the Raiders defending the blue line and, with 7:12 remaining, made the final score of 4–0 and gave Missisquoi the 2010 Division II boys' ice hockey crown, the school's first winter sports championship, and a 19–4 season, and

Whereas, Missisquoi's great team, including Caleb Lothian, Trevor Gagner, Matt Conger, Jeremy Coutts, Ryan Lothian, Joey Hartmann, Kevin Leblanc, Brian Fortin, Anthony Vorse, Cole Tessier, Zach Ross, Bart Benckert, Caleb Letourneau, Kinnon McDonald, Silas Rainville, Chris Leblanc, Devin Johnson, Jon Case, Ryan Brown, Dylan Lothian, Adam Fortin, Jack Hubbard, Ken Spears, Kyle Kilbury, Jacob Pratt, Justin Christian, and Ryan Plouff, skated a spectacular season of boys' ice hockey, and managers Chasen LaShure and Randy Hoffman were always helpful, and

Whereas, Head Coach Jason Brace, Assistant Coach Luc Choquette, who skillfully substituted at the championship game for Coach Brace when he was on National Guard duty, and Assistant Coach John McDonald inspired the team to play its best, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2010 Missisquoi Valley Union High School Thunderbirds Division II championship boys' ice hockey team, and be it further

No. R-393 Page 3

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Missisquoi Valley Union High School Athletic Director David Rousselle.