SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL 1347

State of Washington 65th Legislature 2017 Regular Session

By House Local Government (originally sponsored by Representatives Riccelli, Holy, and Ormsby)

- 1 AN ACT Relating to the creation of a countywide port district
- within a county containing no port districts; amending RCW 53.12.172;
- 3 adding a new section to chapter 53.04 RCW; and providing ar
- 4 expiration date.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 6 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 1.** A new section is added to chapter 53.04 7 RCW to read as follows:
- 8 (1) Prior to December 31, 2020, in a county with no port
- 9 district, a port district coextensive with the limits of such county 10 may be created by a ballot proposition submitted to the voters
- 11 authorizing the creation of the port district. Notwithstanding RCW
- 12 53.12.172(2), the initial port commissioners may be elected at the
- 13 next general election after approval of the port district under this
- 14 section. All procedural requirements in RCW 53.04.020 must be
- 15 followed, except the requirement to elect port commissioners at the
- 16 same election. No taxes may be levied by a port district created
- 17 under this section until after the election of the port commissioners
- 18 for such district.
- 19 (2) This section expires December 31, 2020.

p. 1 SHB 1347

Sec. 2. RCW 53.12.172 and 2015 c 53 s 80 are each amended to 2 read as follows:

- (1) In every port district the term of office of each port commissioner ((shall)) <u>must</u> be four years in each port district that is countywide with a population of one hundred thousand or more, or either six or four years in all other port districts as provided in RCW 53.12.175, and until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280.
- (2) Except as provided otherwise in section 1 of this act, the initial port commissioners ((shall)) must be elected at the same election as when the ballot proposition is submitted to voters authorizing the creation of the port district. If the port district is created the persons elected at this election ((shall)) must serve as the initial port commission. No primary shall be held. The person receiving the greatest number of votes for commissioner from each commissioner district ((shall)) must be elected as the commissioner of that district.
- (3) The terms of office of the initial port commissioners shall be staggered as follows in a port district that is countywide with a population of one hundred thousand or more: (a) The two persons who are elected receiving the two greatest numbers of votes shall be elected to four-year terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or three-year terms of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280; and (b) the other person who is elected shall be elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280.
- (4) The terms of office of the initial port commissioners in all other port districts shall be staggered as follows: (a) The person who is elected receiving the greatest number of votes shall be elected to a six-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or to a five-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280; (b) the person who is elected receiving the next greatest number of votes shall be elected to a four-year term of

p. 2 SHB 1347

office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or to a three-1 year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, 2 and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and 3 assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280; and (c) the other 4 person who is elected shall be elected to a two-year term of office 5 6 if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall 7 hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes 8 office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280. 9

(5) The initial port commissioners shall take office immediately after being elected and qualified, but the length of their terms shall be calculated from the first day in January in the year following their elections.

10

11 12

13

--- END ---

p. 3 SHB 1347